Jindal Steel logo

Jindal Steel shareholders and shareholding pattern

NSE: JINDALSTELBSE: 532286Ferrous MetalsLarge Cap

JINDAL STEEL LIMITED · Formerly Jindal Steel & Power · Face value ₹1 · Listed Dec 1999 on NSE, Jan 2000 on BSE
Last close ₹1,048.10down ₹11.90 (1.12%)BSE ₹1,051.60

Share price at the NSE close on 28 Oct 2026. Previous close ₹1,060.00.

28 Oct: open ₹1,060.00, high ₹1,063.50, low ₹1,045.80

52-week range of traded prices to 28 Oct 2026
₹977.10Low, 9 Dec 2025₹1,306.20High, 21 Apr 2026
Market cap
₹1,06,915 Cr87th largest listed
P/E
37.46
P/E without one-offs
28.70
P/B
2.04
Dividend yield
0.19%
ROE
5.6%
ROE without one-offs
7.3%
ROCE
8.3%
Debt to equity
0.41
Volume, NSE
13,41,96152.7% delivered

Jindal Steel's shareholding pattern for Sep 2026, filed on 21 Oct 2026, with every filing from Dec 2016: who owns its shares by group, its promoters by name and its public holders of 1% or more.

Who owns Jindal Steel, filing by filing

Per cent of the company's shares.

Sep 2026 filing

  • Promoters62.69%
  • Foreign institutions8.75%
  • Indian institutions19.70%
  • GovernmentsNone
  • Individuals and others8.65%
  • Employee trusts0.21%

Shareholding pattern, per cent, from Sep 2022

  • Promoters
  • Foreign institutions
  • Indian institutions
  • Governments
  • Individuals and others
  • Employee trusts
62.69%0.00%62.69%8.75%19.70%8.65%0.21%Sep 22Jun 23Mar 24Dec 24Sep 25Sep 26
Per centDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
61.89%61.89%61.89%61.89%61.96%58.66%58.66%58.66%58.66%58.69%60.52%60.40%60.40%60.48%60.48%60.47%60.47%60.47%60.47%60.47%60.44%60.45%60.44%61.20%61.20%61.20%61.20%61.20%61.20%61.20%61.19%61.19%61.19%62.22%62.36%62.37%62.69%62.69%62.69%62.69%
Indian promoters54.46%54.45%54.45%54.45%54.53%51.63%51.60%51.60%51.60%51.63%53.81%53.70%53.70%53.77%53.77%53.77%53.77%53.77%53.77%53.77%55.34%55.54%55.54%56.30%56.30%56.30%56.29%56.29%56.29%56.29%56.29%56.29%56.29%57.33%57.47%57.48%57.80%57.80%57.80%57.80%
Foreign promoters7.43%7.43%7.44%7.44%7.43%7.03%7.06%7.06%7.06%7.06%6.71%6.70%6.70%6.70%6.70%6.70%6.70%6.70%6.70%6.70%5.10%4.91%4.90%4.90%4.90%4.90%4.90%4.90%4.90%4.90%4.90%4.89%4.89%4.89%4.89%4.89%4.89%4.89%4.89%4.89%
38.11%38.11%38.11%38.11%38.04%41.34%41.34%41.34%41.34%41.31%39.48%39.60%39.60%39.52%39.52%39.53%39.53%39.53%39.53%39.53%39.56%39.55%38.53%37.33%37.33%37.33%37.33%37.33%37.07%37.07%37.99%38.00%38.00%36.97%37.39%37.38%37.05%37.05%37.09%37.10%
Employee trusts–––––––––––––0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%1.02%1.48%1.48%1.48%1.48%1.48%1.73%1.73%0.81%0.81%0.81%0.81%0.25%0.25%0.25%0.25%0.22%0.21%
Promoter shares pledgedShare of the promoters' own shares38.93%38.93%38.93%33.48%33.88%29.16%27.98%37.09%50.20%54.10%64.85%68.72%65.58%74.80%57.28%50.37%47.76%41.65%39.52%39.50%40.10%39.98%47.21%40.84%39.16%36.43%34.26%13.25%12.92%13.11%12.95%13.11%12.77%11.35%11.15%11.19%10.87%10.91%9.92%10.11%
Shares in issue91,49,03,80091,50,24,23491,50,24,23491,50,24,23491,64,44,23496,79,46,37996,79,46,37996,79,46,37996,79,46,37996,79,46,3791,01,79,61,9761,02,00,15,9711,02,00,15,9711,02,00,15,9711,02,00,15,9711,02,00,15,9711,02,00,15,9711,02,00,15,9711,02,00,15,9711,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,0971,02,00,88,097
Shares locked in–1,20,4349,14,20,8279,14,20,8279,28,40,8279,27,20,3939,27,20,3939,27,20,3939,27,20,39314,20,0005,14,35,5975,34,89,5925,34,89,5925,34,89,5925,14,73,9959,27,20,3934,94,20,0004,80,00,0004,80,00,0004,80,00,0004,80,05,4004,80,05,4004,80,00,00000000000000––––––
Promoters' shares locked in–09,13,00,3939,13,00,3939,27,20,3939,27,20,3939,27,20,3939,27,20,3939,27,20,39314,20,0004,94,20,0004,94,20,0004,94,20,0004,94,20,0004,94,20,0009,27,20,3934,94,20,0004,80,00,0004,80,00,0004,80,00,0004,80,00,0004,80,00,0004,80,00,00000000000000––––––
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. Pledged is the share of the promoters' own shares given to lenders as security. A dash is a line the filing did not state. “Under 0.01%” is a holding of shares too small to show at two decimals.

Number of Jindal Steel shareholders

Shareholders on the company's register in each filing.

Shareholders, filing by filing

1,84,227Dec 161,77,762Mar 171,80,660Jun 171,74,269Sep 171,54,541Dec 171,58,883Mar 181,57,473Jun 181,56,278Sep 181,70,348Dec 181,64,769Mar 191,66,299Jun 191,73,656Sep 191,63,652Dec 191,72,186Mar 201,83,136Jun 201,97,185Sep 201,74,597Dec 201,76,106Mar 212,70,135Jun 213,04,802Sep 212,99,954Dec 212,56,046Mar 223,01,830Jun 222,72,333Sep 222,36,438Dec 222,35,473Mar 232,30,774Jun 232,38,054Sep 232,50,732Dec 232,59,991Mar 242,80,533Jun 242,87,902Sep 242,98,258Dec 243,05,285Mar 253,02,190Jun 252,90,386Sep 252,82,086Dec 252,71,333Mar 262,76,544Jun 262,72,544Sep 26
ShareholdersDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
All shareholders1,84,2271,77,7621,80,6601,74,2691,54,5411,58,8831,57,4731,56,2781,70,3481,64,7691,66,2991,73,6561,63,6521,72,1861,83,1361,97,1851,74,5971,76,1062,70,1353,04,8022,99,9542,56,0463,01,8302,72,3332,36,4382,35,4732,30,7742,38,0542,50,7322,59,9912,80,5332,87,9022,98,2583,05,2853,02,1902,90,3862,82,0862,71,3332,76,5442,72,544
43434346525252525252525252494949494848484948484847474747474747474748484849494949
Indian promoters31313134404039393939393939393939393838383939393939393939393939393940404041414141
Foreign promoters1212121212121313131313131310101010101010109998888888888888888
1,84,1841,77,7191,80,6171,74,2231,54,4891,58,8311,57,4211,56,2261,70,2961,64,7171,66,2471,73,6041,63,6001,72,1371,83,0871,97,1361,74,5481,76,0582,70,0873,04,7542,99,9052,55,9983,01,7812,72,2842,36,3902,35,4252,30,7262,38,0062,50,6842,59,9432,80,4852,87,8542,98,2103,05,2363,02,1412,90,3372,82,0362,71,2832,76,4942,72,494
Employee trusts–––––––––––––000000000111111111111111111
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. A dash is a line the filing did not state.

Jindal Steel promoters

Promoters are the founders, families and companies that control the company, as its filings name them. Every member of the promoter group holding shares in the filing for Sep 2026; the largest is OPJ TRADING PRIVATE LIMITED, 18.47%. The filing names 4 more members with no shares.Promoter buying and selling

Holder
OPJ TRADING PRIVATE LIMITEDIndian companies, trusts and others18.47%18,84,13,6670.00%
OPELINA SUSTAINABLE SERVICES PRIVATE LIMITEDIndian companies, trusts and others14.42%14,70,84,1730.00%
SIDDESHWARI TRADEX PRIVATE LIMITEDIndian companies, trusts and others7.69%7,84,84,92435.61%
VIRTUOUS TRADECORP PRIVATE LIMITEDIndian companies, trusts and others6.31%6,43,95,86722.11%
SKYHIGH SUSTAINABLE LIMITEDIndian companies, trusts and others4.87%4,97,09,9520.00%
JINDAL POWER LIMITEDIndian companies, trusts and others1.18%1,20,51,3830.00%
Naveen Jindal (as a trustee of Global Vision Trust)Indian companies, trusts and others1.10%1,12,68,5000.00%
NAVEEN JINDALIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.80%81,36,5960.00%
MENDEZA HOLDINGS LIMITEDForeign companies and others0.73%74,31,060100.00%
NACHO INVESTMENTS LIMITEDForeign companies and others0.73%74,40,000100.00%
JARGO INVESTMENTS LIMITEDForeign companies and others0.73%74,30,4000.00%
TEMPLAR INVESTMENTS LIMITEDForeign companies and others0.73%74,37,8400.00%
Pledged is the share of the holder's own shares pledged to a lender.

Largest public holders of Jindal Steel, filing by filing

Per cent, on the same shares as the split above.Mutual funds holding Jindal Steel

HolderDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
NPS TRUST- A/C SBI PENSION FUND SCHEME - STATE GOVTProvident and pension funds––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.27%1.38%1.39%1.32%
NPS TRUST- A/C SBI PENSION FUND SCHEME E - TIER IProvident and pension funds–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.12%––––
NEW WORLD FUND INCForeign portfolio investors, category I––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.09%1.09%1.09%1.28%1.28%–––––––––
ICICI PRUDENTIAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY LIMITEDInsurance companies––––––––1.56%2.37%2.49%3.08%3.50%3.45%2.90%2.34%2.44%1.97%1.28%–2.04%2.12%2.32%2.16%1.43%1.07%1.08%–––––––––––––
KOTAK FUNDS - INDIA MIDCAP FUNDInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor––––1.07%1.19%1.20%1.20%1.20%1.25%1.19%1.19%1.16%1.13%1.13%1.06%1.07%–––––––––––––––––––––––
TREE LINE ASIA MASTER FUND (SINGAPORE) PTE LTDInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor–––––1.17%1.17%1.17%1.35%1.55%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%––––––––––––––––––––––––––
BLACKROCK GLOBAL FUNDS ASIAN DRAGON FUNDInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor–––1.03%2.31%2.60%2.38%2.10%1.99%1.85%1.39%1.11%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
BLACKROCK GLOBAL FUNDS - ASIAN GROWTH LEADERS FUNDInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor––––––1.66%1.68%1.51%1.54%1.13%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
HSBC Global Investment Funds - Indian EquityInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor1.58%1.34%1.36%1.38%1.28%1.03%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
HSBC Pooled Investment Fund - HSBS Pooled Asia Pacific Ex Japan Equity FundInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor––––1.17%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
HSBC POOLED INVESTMENT FUND - HSBC POOLED ASIA PACIFIC EX JAPAN EQUITY FUNDInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor––2.15%1.74%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
HSBC POOLED INVESTMENT FUND A/C HSBC POOLED INVESTMENT FUND - HSBC POOLED ASIA PACIFIC EX JAPAN EQUITY FUNDInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor2.29%2.03%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
VALIANT MAURITIUS PARTNERS OFFSHORE LIMITEDInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor2.32%1.42%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
VALIANT MAURITIUS PARTNERS LIMITEDInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor1.83%1.07%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
A filing names every holder above one per cent, in the company's own words: an insurer's holding can carry one of its funds' names. Mutual funds are left out here: each fund's holding is on the Mutual funds tab, from its own portfolio. A dash is a filing that did not name the holder, which includes holding under one per cent.

Who moved in the Sep 2026 filing

Against the Jun 2026 filing. A filing names a public holder only at 1% or more, so a holder no longer named fell under 1% or sold out.

  • Indian institutions: NPS TRUST- A/C SBI PENSION FUND SCHEME - STATE GOVT 1.32%, −0.07 pts