Hindalco Industries logo

Hindalco Industries shareholders and shareholding pattern

NSE: HINDALCOBSE: 500440Non - Ferrous MetalsLarge Cap

Hindalco Industries Limited · Face value ₹1 · Listed Jan 1997
Last close ₹886.30down ₹7.45 (0.83%)BSE ₹885.60

Share price at the NSE close on 29 Oct 2026. Previous close ₹893.75.

29 Oct: open ₹891.00, high ₹893.40, low ₹880.00

52-week range of traded prices to 29 Oct 2026
₹770.15Low, 6 Nov 2025₹1,176.00High, 29 May 2026
Market cap
₹1,99,172 Cr39th largest listed
P/E
12.14
P/E without one-offs
7.76
P/B
1.46
Dividend yield
0.56%
ROE
12.6%
ROE without one-offs
19.7%
ROCE
13.6%
Debt to equity
0.71
Volume, NSE
50,01,81368.5% delivered

Hindalco Industries' shareholding pattern for Sep 2026, filed on 19 Oct 2026, with every filing from Dec 2016: who owns its shares by group, its promoters by name and its public holders of 1% or more.

Who owns Hindalco Industries, filing by filing

Per cent of the company's shares.

Sep 2026 filing

  • Promoters34.66%
  • Foreign institutions34.43%
  • Indian institutions20.97%
  • Governments0.23%
  • Individuals and others9.22%
  • Employee trusts0.48%

Shareholding pattern, per cent, from Sep 2022

  • Promoters
  • Foreign institutions
  • Indian institutions
  • Governments
  • Individuals and others
  • Employee trusts
35.60%0.23%34.66%34.43%20.97%0.23%9.22%0.48%Sep 22Jun 23Mar 24Dec 24Sep 25Sep 26
Per centDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
37.67%34.70%34.69%34.69%34.67%34.67%34.67%34.66%34.66%34.66%34.66%34.66%34.65%34.65%34.65%34.65%34.65%34.64%34.64%34.65%34.65%34.64%34.64%34.64%34.64%34.64%34.64%34.64%34.64%34.64%34.64%34.64%34.64%34.64%34.64%34.64%34.64%34.64%34.66%34.66%
Indian promoters36.97%34.05%34.05%34.04%34.02%34.02%34.02%34.02%34.01%34.01%34.01%34.01%34.01%34.00%34.00%34.00%34.00%34.00%33.99%34.00%34.00%33.99%33.99%33.99%33.99%33.99%33.99%33.99%33.99%33.99%33.99%33.99%33.99%33.99%33.99%33.99%33.99%33.99%34.01%34.02%
Foreign promoters0.70%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%0.65%
62.33%65.30%65.31%65.31%65.33%65.33%65.33%65.34%65.14%65.14%65.10%65.10%65.10%65.09%65.09%65.09%65.09%65.10%65.10%65.06%65.00%65.04%65.07%65.00%64.95%64.95%64.97%64.94%64.89%64.90%64.92%64.86%64.88%64.89%64.91%64.82%64.85%64.87%64.87%64.85%
Employee trusts––––––––0.20%0.20%0.25%0.25%0.25%0.26%0.26%0.26%0.26%0.26%0.26%0.29%0.34%0.31%0.29%0.36%0.41%0.41%0.39%0.42%0.47%0.46%0.44%0.50%0.48%0.47%0.45%0.54%0.51%0.49%0.47%0.48%
Promoter shares pledgedShare of the promoters' own shares0.09%0.09%0.09%0.09%0.09%0.09%0.09%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%
Shares in issue2,06,61,45,2922,24,32,54,0902,24,33,92,5072,24,36,09,8792,24,48,89,1462,24,49,62,9022,24,50,51,8922,24,53,49,4072,24,55,12,3852,24,55,30,2452,24,58,45,9162,24,59,24,2422,24,60,40,6142,24,62,22,6872,24,62,84,5462,24,63,52,5812,24,65,82,9382,24,66,84,2472,24,69,00,6092,24,71,14,7352,24,71,69,8402,24,71,72,7242,24,71,72,7242,24,71,75,1092,24,71,94,5852,24,71,94,5852,24,71,94,5852,24,72,16,5232,24,72,16,5232,24,72,16,5232,24,72,16,5232,24,72,16,5232,24,72,26,5232,24,72,26,5232,24,72,26,5232,24,72,26,5232,24,72,26,5232,24,72,26,5232,24,72,26,5232,24,72,26,523
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. Pledged is the share of the promoters' own shares given to lenders as security. A dash is a line the filing did not state. “Under 0.01%” is a holding of shares too small to show at two decimals.

Number of Hindalco Industries shareholders

Shareholders on the company's register in each filing.

Shareholders, filing by filing

3,30,955Dec 163,19,787Mar 173,16,186Jun 172,99,980Sep 172,90,702Dec 172,99,521Mar 183,00,162Jun 182,96,094Sep 182,99,226Dec 183,04,345Mar 193,00,979Jun 192,98,219Sep 192,94,428Dec 193,32,014Mar 203,72,923Jun 203,83,347Sep 203,38,916Dec 203,48,471Mar 214,21,300Jun 214,04,878Sep 215,06,562Dec 215,03,729Mar 227,03,180Jun 227,45,952Sep 226,48,797Dec 226,76,110Mar 236,66,489Jun 236,13,244Sep 235,49,231Dec 236,41,541Mar 246,49,551Jun 246,45,537Sep 246,94,836Dec 246,81,098Mar 256,90,932Jun 256,65,009Sep 256,79,190Dec 256,91,308Mar 266,99,601Jun 267,04,736Sep 26
ShareholdersDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
All shareholders3,30,9553,19,7873,16,1862,99,9802,90,7022,99,5213,00,1622,96,0942,99,2263,04,3453,00,9792,98,2192,94,4283,32,0143,72,9233,83,3473,38,9163,48,4714,21,3004,04,8785,06,5625,03,7297,03,1807,45,9526,48,7976,76,1106,66,4896,13,2445,49,2316,41,5416,49,5516,45,5376,94,8366,81,0986,90,9326,65,0096,79,1906,91,3086,99,6017,04,736
22222221212121202020201717171717171717171717171717171717171716161616161616161617
Indian promoters18181817171717161616161313131313131313131313131313131313131312121212121212121213
Foreign promoters4444444444444444444444444444444444444444
3,30,9333,19,7653,16,1642,99,9592,90,6812,99,5003,00,1412,96,0742,99,2053,04,3243,00,9582,98,2012,94,4103,31,9963,72,9053,83,3293,38,8983,48,4534,21,2824,04,8605,06,5445,03,7117,03,1627,45,9346,48,7796,76,0926,66,4716,13,2265,49,2136,41,5236,49,5346,45,5206,94,8196,81,0816,90,9156,64,9926,79,1736,91,2916,99,5847,04,718
Employee trusts––––––––11111111111111111111111111111111
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. A dash is a line the filing did not state.

Hindalco Industries promoters

Promoters are the founders, families and companies that control the company, as its filings name them. Every member of the promoter group holding shares in the filing for Sep 2026; the largest is Igh Holdings Private Limited, 15.58%.Promoter buying and selling

Holder
Igh Holdings Private LimitedIndian companies, trusts and others15.58%35,00,88,487
Birla Group Holdings Private LimitedIndian companies, trusts and others11.38%25,56,22,668
Grasim Industries LtdIndian companies, trusts and others3.92%8,80,48,812
Pilani Investment and IndustriesIndian companies, trusts and others1.33%2,98,57,969
Birla Institute of Technology and ScienceIndian companies, trusts and others0.96%2,15,83,090
TRUSTEE HOLDING SHARES UNDER THE SCHEME OF MERGER OF HIL/IGCL/IGFL ON BEHALF OF HINDALCOIndian companies, trusts and others0.73%1,63,16,130
PT Indo Bharat RayonForeign companies and others0.43%96,33,890
P T Sunrise Bumi TextilesForeign companies and others0.13%30,04,167
PT Elegant Textile IndustryForeign companies and others0.08%19,02,752
Kumar Mangalam BirlaIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.06%13,41,635
Rajashree BirlaIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.03%6,12,470
Aditya Vikram Kumarmangalam Birla Huf.Individuals and Hindu undivided families0.03%6,48,632
No promoter shares are reported as pledged.

Largest public holders of Hindalco Industries, filing by filing

Per cent, on the same shares as the split above.Mutual funds holding Hindalco Industries

HolderDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
MORGAN GUARANTY TRUST COMPANY OF NEW YORK, ASDEPOSITARYOverseas depositories–––––––––––––––––––––––3.70%3.89%–––3.70%3.70%3.69%3.69%3.69%3.69%3.79%3.97%4.17%4.17%4.18%4.25%
LICI INDEX PLUS FLEXI GROWTH FUNDInsurance companies–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––4.24%
NPS TRUST - A/C LIC PENSION FUND SCHEME - NPS TIER-II COMPOSITE SCHEMEProvident and pension funds–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––2.80%
GOVERNMENT OF SINGAPOREForeign portfolio investors, category I––––––––––––––1.09%–1.83%3.00%2.51%2.51%2.57%2.69%2.83%–3.05%3.31%–4.04%4.09%3.19%2.42%2.48%2.46%2.53%2.20%2.18%2.10%2.67%2.65%2.56%
Life Insurance Corporation of IndiaInsurance companies––––––––––––––––––––––––––9.45%8.90%6.66%–––––5.23%6.18%4.92%4.82%4.59%–
Nps Trust- A/C Sbi Pension Fund Scheme - State GovtProvident and pension funds––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––2.05%2.32%2.52%–
Nps Trust- A/C Hdfc Pension Fund Management Limited Scheme E - Tier IProvident and pension funds––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.94%1.71%1.80%1.73%––––
Sbi Life Insurance Co. LtdInsurance companies––––––––––––––––1.01%––––––1.06%––1.12%1.12%1.13%1.04%1.21%1.12%1.21%1.29%1.18%–––––
Icici Prudential Life Insurance Company LimitedInsurance companies–––––––––1.08%1.10%–––1.05%–1.14%–––––1.17%1.07%1.10%1.20%1.03%1.11%1.13%1.15%1.08%1.08%1.10%1.07%1.03%–––––
LICI Asm Non ParInsurance companies–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––6.60%5.62%4.96%4.71%5.03%––––––
Nps Trust- A/C Hdfc Pension Management Company Ltd Scheme E - Tier IProvident and pension funds–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.27%1.77%1.79%––––––––
NPS TRUST A/C UTI RETIREMENT SOLUTIONS LIMITED- APY FUND SCHEMEProvident and pension funds––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.16%1.15%1.18%–––––––––––
MORGAN GUARANTY TRUST COMPANY OF NEW YORK, AS DEPOSITORYOverseas depositories–––––––––––––––––––––––––3.77%3.68%–––––––––––––
LIFE INSURANCE CORPORATION OF INDIA & ITS ASSOCIATE FUNDInsurance companies–––––––––––––––––––––––9.20%10.14%9.65%––––––––––––––
NPS TRUST - A/C LIC PENSION FUND SCHEME - CORPORATE CGProvident and pension funds––––––––––––––––––––––1.12%1.13%1.10%1.12%––––––––––––––
Government of SingapurForeign portfolio investors, category I–––––––––––––––––––––––2.94%––––––––––––––––
LIFE INSURANCE CORPORATION OF INDIA & ITS ASSOCIATE FUNDSInsurance companies––7.82%7.01%7.01%––––––10.52%–9.96%10.42%10.41%9.02%9.04%8.39%8.41%8.80%8.44%8.11%–––––––––––––––––
MORGAN GUARANTY TRUST COMPANY OF NEW YORKOverseas depositories–––––––––––––6.02%6.01%6.08%6.10%6.07%6.08%5.67%––3.69%–––––––––––––––––
MORGAN GUARANTY TRUST COMPANY OF NEW YOROverseas depositories–––––––––––––––––––––3.73%––––––––––––––––––
KUWAIT INVESTMENT AUTHORITY - & Associated fundsInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor–––––––––––––––––––1.01%––––––––––––––––––––
MONETARY AUTHORITY OF SINGAPOREInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor–––––––––––––––––1.06%––––––––––––––––––––––
ABU DHABI INVESTMENT AUTHORITY - BEACONInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor––––––––––––––––1.06%–––––––––––––––––––––––
Abu Dhabi Investment AutorityInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor–––––––1.14%––––––1.20%–––––––––––––––––––––––––
Franklin Templeton Investment FundsInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor–––––––1.13%1.31%1.60%1.52%––1.38%1.05%–––––––––––––––––––––––––
LIFE INSURANCE CORPORATION OF INDIA & ITS ASSOCIATESInsurance companies––––––––––––10.58%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––
FRANKLINE TEMPLETON INVESTMENT FUNDInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor––––––––––––1.40%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––
GOVERNMENT OF SINGAPORE AND ASSOCIATESInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor–––––1.27%1.34%–1.29%1.26%1.22%1.04%1.03%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––
J P MORGAN CHASE BANK ACTING AS CUSTODIANOverseas depositories––––––6.05%6.09%6.13%6.15%6.18%6.18%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
Franklin Templeton Investment FundInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor–––––––––––1.51%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
ICICI PRUDENTIAL INSURANCE COMPANY LIMITEDOther non-institutions–––––––––––1.10%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
LIFE INSURANCE CORPORATION OF INIDA AND ITS ASSOCIATE FUNDInsurance companies––––––––––9.26%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
LIFE INSURANCE CORPORATION OF INDIA AND ITS ASSOCIATE FUNDSInsurance companies–9.16%–––7.07%7.93%7.93%7.93%7.93%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
NOMURA INDIA INVESTMENT FUND MOTHER FUNDInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor––––––1.71%1.58%1.53%1.53%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
GOVERNMENT OF SINFGAPORE AND ASOOCIATESInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor–––––––1.34%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
BAJAJ ALLIANCE LIFE INSURANCE COMPANYOther non-institutions1.29%1.40%1.35%1.24%1.11%1.01%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
J P MORGAN CHASE BANK AS DEPOSITORYOverseas depositories––6.15%6.15%6.14%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
LIC & ITS ASSOCIATE FUNDSInsurance companies11.43%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
A filing names every holder above one per cent, in the company's own words: an insurer's holding can carry one of its funds' names. Mutual funds are left out here: each fund's holding is on the Mutual funds tab, from its own portfolio. A dash is a filing that did not name the holder, which includes holding under one per cent.

Who moved in the Sep 2026 filing

Against the Jun 2026 filing. A filing names a public holder only at 1% or more, so a holder no longer named fell under 1% or sold out.

  • Foreign institutions: GOVERNMENT OF SINGAPORE 2.56%, −0.09 pts; MORGAN GUARANTY TRUST COMPANY OF NEW YORK, ASDEPOSITARY 4.25%, +0.07 pts
  • Indian institutions: Life Insurance Corporation of India no longer named, from 4.59%; LICI INDEX PLUS FLEXI GROWTH FUND newly named at 4.24%; NPS TRUST - A/C LIC PENSION FUND SCHEME - NPS TIER-II COMPOSITE SCHEME newly named at 2.80%; 1 more moved