TCNS Clothing Co. (Delisted) share price

BSE: 541700Textiles & Apparels

TCNS Clothing Co. Limited · Face value ₹2 · Listed Jul 2018 · Issue price ₹716

Last traded ₹583.95 on 2 Sep 2024

Delisted on 15 Oct 2024.

Last announcements

The company's own last announcements before its shares stopped trading, routine notices left out.

Share price history

Daily closes since Jul 2018, adjusted for splits and bonuses

Daily close, ₹ per share

Q1 results, quarter to Jun 2024

Standalone: the listed company alone, without its subsidiaries. ₹ crore.

Revenue
₹206 Cr−15.5% on a year ago · −2.4% on the quarter before
Operating profit
−₹40 Cr
Net profit
−₹60 Cr
Earnings per share
−₹9.42
Operating margin
−19.3%
Net margin
−29.0%

From revenue to net profit, ₹ crore

  1. Revenue206
  2. Materials and goods−85
  3. Employee costs−42
  4. Other expenses−119
  5. Operating profit−40
  6. Depreciation−27
  7. Other income+3.6
  8. Finance costs−16
  9. Profit before tax−80
  10. Tax+20
  11. Net profit−60

TCNS Clothing Co. results by quarter

Standalone: the listed company alone, without its subsidiaries. Latest quarter to Jun 2024. Results for the quarter to Sep 2024 were due by 14 Nov 2024, 45 days after it ends. Every company's dates are on the results calendar.

Revenue and net profit by quarter, ₹ crore

  • Revenue
  • Net profit
  • Loss
23911Sep 2132925Dec 21234−5.8Mar 222762.4Jun 223517.6Sep 223060.5Dec 22269−28Mar 23244−37Jun 23226−136Sep 23278−52Dec 23211−64Mar 24206−60Jun 24
Peak revenue ₹351 Cr, quarter to Sep 2022; lowest ₹206 Cr, quarter to Jun 2024A loss in 7 of the 12 quarters shown

Operating and net margin by quarter, per cent

  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
19.2%−60.4%12.6%19.2%8.4%11.3%13.2%13.0%3.2%−4.2%−56.4%−3.5%−17.8%−19.3%4.6%7.6%−2.5%0.9%2.2%0.2%−10.5%−15.2%−60.4%−18.5%−30.1%−29.0%Sep 21Mar 22Sep 22Mar 23Sep 23Mar 24Jun 24
₹ croreSep 2019Dec 2019Q3Mar 2020Jun 2020Q1Filed 18 AugSep 2020Dec 2020Q3Filed 5 FebMar 2021Jun 2021Q1Sep 2021Dec 2021Q3Mar 2022Jun 2022Q1Sep 2022Dec 2022Q3Mar 2023Jun 2023Q1Sep 2023Dec 2023Q3Mar 2024Jun 2024Q1
Revenue from operations3213292193214423822194239329234276351306269244226278211206
25626122475160199198117209265215245304266260254353288249246
Materials and goods bought1121069216709394418910673861159710391111838085
Employee costs4142383331263231364241474846474949504642
Other expenses10311493266081724584117101112142124110115193155123119
Operating profit before depreciation6568−5−43−163823−233063203146408−10−127−10−38−40
Operating margin20.3%20.6%−2.2%−131.7%−11.3%16.2%10.4%−24.9%12.6%19.2%8.4%11.3%13.2%13.0%3.2%−4.2%−56.4%−3.5%−17.8%−19.3%
Depreciation and amortisation2425312522192521222329262729392933313127
Other income379179518315512724452244
Finance costs1010109971189911101113181419182016
One-off items00000000000000000000
Profit before tax3440−36−60−38175−491435−83101−45−49−177−57−84−80
17−15−13−15−1141−13310−2020−16−12−41−5−21−20
Tax rate48.5%−36.6%–––25.2%17.4%–21.5%29.0%–6.0%24.1%29.8%––––––
Net profit1855−24−45−28134−361125−6281−28−37−136−52−64−60
Other comprehensive income−10001010001010−100001
Total comprehensive income1755−24−46−27134−361125−5381−29−37−136−52−64−59
Net margin5.5%16.7%−10.8%−139.8%−19.1%5.3%1.8%−38.4%4.6%7.6%−2.5%0.9%2.2%0.2%−10.5%−15.2%−60.4%−18.5%−30.1%−29.0%
Earnings per share₹2.88₹8.60−₹3.71−₹7.12−₹4.16₹2.12₹0.61–₹1.74₹3.93−₹0.91₹0.38₹1.20₹0.08−₹4.40−₹5.87−₹21.45−₹8.03−₹10.07−₹9.42
Diluted earnings per share₹2.79₹8.35−₹3.71−₹7.12−₹4.16₹2.12₹0.60–₹1.70₹3.85−₹0.91₹0.37₹1.17₹0.08−₹4.40−₹5.87−₹21.45−₹8.03−₹10.07−₹9.42
Earnings per share in rupees, restated for later splits and bonuses.

6 years at a glance

Standalone: the listed company alone, without its subsidiaries. ₹ crore, years to March.

Revenue, net profit and borrowings, ₹ crore

  • Revenue
  • Net profit
  • Borrowings
  • Loss
1,1481310Mar 191,149690Mar 20636−565.4Mar 21896−5.70Mar 221,202−1840Mar 23960−289129Mar 24
Peak revenue ₹1,202 Cr, year to Mar 2023; lowest ₹636 Cr, year to Mar 2021A loss in 4 of the 6 years shown

Operating and net margin, per cent

  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
16.2%−30.1%15.4%16.2%0.4%10.0%10.5%−19.3%11.4%6.0%−8.9%−0.6%−1.5%−30.1%Mar 19Mar 20Mar 21Mar 22Mar 23Mar 24

From Apr 2019 leases sit on the balance sheet: rent is charged as depreciation and interest instead, so operating profit and total assets step up with nothing about the business having changed. Borrowings here leave lease liabilities out.

Results for the year to Mar 2024

Standalone: the listed company alone, without its subsidiaries. ₹ crore.

From revenue to net profit

  1. Revenue960
  2. Materials and goods−337
  3. Employee costs−194
  4. Other expenses−613
  5. Operating profit−185
  6. Depreciation−125
  7. Other income+13
  8. One-off items0.0
  9. Finance costs−71
  10. Profit before tax−367
  11. Tax+79
  12. Net profit−289

What the company owns

  • Plant, investments and other assets₹765 Cr
  • Inventory₹370 Cr
  • Receivables₹147 Cr
  • Cash and bank₹2 Cr

What pays for it: net worth and liabilities

  • Other liabilities₹588 Cr
  • Net worth₹303 Cr
  • Owed to suppliers₹264 Cr
  • Borrowings₹129 Cr

Profit and loss

Standalone, ₹ crore, years to March. The last column is the twelve months to Jun 2024, the latest four quarters added.

₹ croreMar 2019Mar 2020Mar 2021Mar 2022Mar 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Twelve months
Revenue from operations1,1481,1496368961,202960922
9719626338061,0761,1441,136
Materials and goods bought390402272310400337358
Employee costs144158121150187194187
Other expenses437402239347489613590
Operating profit before depreciation177186290126−185−214
Operating margin15.4%16.2%0.4%10.0%10.5%−19.3%−23.3%
Materials, % of revenue34.0%35.0%42.9%34.5%33.3%35.2%38.9%
Employee costs, % of revenue12.5%13.7%19.1%16.8%15.5%20.2%20.3%
Other expenses, % of revenue38.1%35.0%37.7%38.7%40.7%63.9%64.1%
Depreciation and amortisation221039294121125122
Operating profit after depreciation15583−89−55−310−337
Other income8214935161312
Finance costs1383637527173
One-off items0000000
Profit before tax16266−77−7−31−367−398
30−3−21−1−14−79−86
Net profit13169−56−6−18−289−311
Other comprehensive income0−121100
Total comprehensive income13268−55−5−17−289−311
Net margin11.4%6.0%−8.9%−0.6%−1.5%−30.1%−33.8%

Balance sheet

Standalone, ₹ crore, at 31 March.

₹ croreMar 2019Mar 2020Mar 2021Mar 2022Mar 2023Mar 2024
619660612620612303
Share capital121212121213
Reserves606648600608599291
Borrowings005040129
153219181275428563
14319281366447418
Total assets7861,1981,0741,2611,4861,285
147485415530648674
639712659731839611
Net debt−161−171−182−15614127
Borrowings are counted again inside the liabilities due within a year and after a year.

Cash flow

Standalone, ₹ crore, years to March.

₹ croreMar 2021Mar 2022Mar 2023Mar 2024
113104047
80104−748
21−22−149217
Receivables3−12−8434
Inventories52−83−133144
Payables−3180884
Other working capital−4−8−1934
Tax paid34−170
Capital spending10304119
Free cash flow10374−4128
−562109−15
−96−109−96−53
Dividends paid0000
Shares bought back0000
Shares issued03318
Net change in cash−38−412−21
Capital spending is part of cash from investing, and dividends paid, shares bought back and shares issued are part of cash from financing. Each is shown as an amount on a line of its own, and the section's other items are in its total only. No cash flow statement is on record for the years to Mar 2019 and Mar 2020.

Per share

Standalone, ₹ per share, years to March.

₹ per shareMar 2019Mar 2020Mar 2021Mar 2022Mar 2023Mar 2024
Earnings per share₹20.95₹10.85−₹8.85−₹0.90−₹2.75−₹45.68
Diluted earnings per share₹20.60₹10.84−₹8.85−₹0.90−₹2.75−₹45.68
Book value per share₹100.87₹107.36₹99.47₹100.60₹99.10₹47.94
Shareholder yield––0.0%−0.1%−0.1%−0.8%
Market cap at the year end (₹ crore)5,0312,0203,1174,7192,5982,162

Ratios

Standalone, years to March.

RatioMar 2019Mar 2020Mar 2021Mar 2022Mar 2023Mar 2024
Revenue growth–0.1%−44.7%41.0%34.1%−20.1%
Operating profit growth–5.3%−98.7%3,573.9%40.1%–
Net profit growth–−47.2%––––
Earnings per share growth–−48.2%––––
21.2%10.9%−8.9%−0.9%−2.8%−63.1%
–−10.4 pts−19.7 pts7.9 pts−1.9 pts−60.2 pts
From the net margin–−10.0 pts−26.8 pts8.2 pts−1.2 pts−55.8 pts
From asset turnover–−2.3 pts8.2 pts−0.2 pts−0.3 pts12.2 pts
From borrowing–2.0 pts−1.2 pts−0.1 pts−0.4 pts−16.6 pts
Return on capital employed25.0%12.6%−14.5%−0.8%0.7%−71.6%
Interest cover300.82.2––0.1–
Debt to equity0.000.000.010.000.060.42
Receivable days575695717856
Inventory days257300373426451401
Payable days108111122202237286
Cash conversion cycle, days206244345294292171
Working capital days10310217012212966
Asset turnover1.461.160.560.770.870.69
Assets per rupee of net worth1.271.551.791.902.233.03
Sales per rupee of plant21.4228.9120.6720.5717.7416.77
Capital spending to depreciation––0.110.320.340.15
Plant being built, % of plant in use0.5%5.3%1.7%3.7%0.2%0.3%
Interest cover is left blank for the years to Mar 2021, Mar 2022 and Mar 2024: operating profit after depreciation is a loss, and a loss covers no interest bill.

Growth and returns over 3, 5 and 10 years

Standalone: the listed company alone, without its subsidiaries. Each window ends with the year to Mar 2024.

Return on assets, latest year
−20.8%
Measure5 years3 years
Revenue growth, yearly rate−3.5%14.7%
Return on equity, average−13.0%−22.3%
Return on capital employed, average−14.7%−23.9%
Operating margin, average3.6%0.4%
Net margin, average−7.0%−10.7%
Asset turnover, average0.810.78
Cash conversion cycle, days, average269252
Debt to equity, average0.100.16

Where the cash came from and went

Standalone: the listed company alone, without its subsidiaries. ₹ crore, added up over each window, which ends with the year to Mar 2024.

₹ crore3 yearsLatest year
Cash from operations15147
Cash from investing95−15
Cash from financing−259−53
Capital spending8919
Dividends paid00
Shares bought back00
Shares issued for cash2318
Borrowings raised–89
Borrowings repaid00

Accounting checks

Standalone, years to March. Published tests of whether reported profit is backed by cash and the balance sheet.

CheckMar 2019Mar 2020Mar 2021Mar 2022Mar 2023Mar 2024
Piotroski score, out of 9Published threshold 3 points out of 9––3532
Altman Z-scorePublished threshold 1.8122.014.755.836.323.531.67
Beneish M-scorePublished threshold −1.78––−2.94−2.86−2.28−4.36
Profit not backed by cash, % of assetsPublished threshold 10 per cent of average total assets––−10.05−9.50−9.18−23.15
Receivables growth less revenue growthOur threshold 0 percentage points–−2.8938.53−35.5514.48−22.99
Inventory growth less cost-of-goods growthOur threshold 0 percentage points–17.2916.5116.147.60−9.32
Other current assets growth less revenue growthOur threshold 5 per cent of revenue–1.07−0.951.211.763.16
Assets under construction, years of additionsOur threshold 2 years of additions–0.020.010.020.000.00
Effective tax ratePublished threshold 17.16 per cent18.68−5.07––––
A threshold marked as ours has no published figure; it is the line we read the check against.

Business segments

In the year to Mar 2024 the company reports one business segment, Operating segment, which carries all its revenue.

Where the return came from

Yearly rates to Mar 2024, per-share figures restated for splits and bonuses.

OverReturn a yearEarnings growthChange in P/EDividend yield
1 year−18.7%––0.0%
3 years−12.3%––0.0%
5 years−16.1%––0.0%
Return is price growth plus the average dividend yield. Change in P/E is (1 + price growth) / (1 + earnings growth) - 1, so the parts compound rather than add. Earnings growth and the change in P/E are left empty where earnings per share at either end of the window was a loss or is not on record. Earnings growth over 1, 3 and 5 years is on profit divided by shares in issue at both ends: the earnings per share stated for one end does not match that year's profit and share count.

Who owns TCNS Clothing Co., filing by filing

Per cent of the company's shares. Every filing on record, from Sep 2021; the latest is the filing for Jun 2024.

Jun 2024 filing

  • Promoters52.01%
  • Foreign institutions4.46%
  • Indian institutions2.14%
  • Individuals and others41.39%

Shareholding pattern, per cent, from Sep 2022

  • Promoters
  • Foreign institutions
  • Indian institutions
  • Individuals and others
61.05%1.75%32.25%32.21%32.20%31.47%61.05%52.06%52.01%52.01%16.82%16.85%16.68%12.20%5.32%5.03%4.57%4.46%5.02%4.50%3.66%4.95%2.53%1.76%1.75%2.14%45.91%46.45%47.46%51.38%31.10%41.15%41.67%41.39%Sep 22Dec 22Mar 23Jun 23Sep 23Dec 23Mar 24Jun 24
Per centSep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024
32.30%32.28%32.26%32.25%32.25%32.21%32.20%31.47%61.05%52.06%52.01%52.01%
Indian promoters32.30%32.28%32.26%32.25%32.25%32.21%32.20%31.47%61.05%52.06%52.01%52.01%
67.69%67.72%67.74%67.75%67.75%67.79%67.80%68.53%38.95%47.94%47.99%47.99%
Shares in issue6,15,39,2496,15,76,5246,16,12,6746,16,29,5496,16,29,5496,17,18,1686,17,23,6686,31,60,9186,32,10,9186,32,10,9186,32,73,4186,32,78,418
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. A dash is a line the filing did not state. “Under 0.01%” is a holding of shares too small to show at two decimals.

Number of TCNS Clothing Co. shareholders

Shareholders on the company's register in each filing.

Shareholders, filing by filing

15,265Sep 2116,076Dec 2116,246Mar 2218,894Jun 2219,438Sep 2220,480Dec 2220,463Mar 2322,168Jun 2325,024Sep 2323,064Dec 2323,429Mar 2418,041Jun 24
ShareholdersSep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024
All shareholders15,26516,07616,24618,89419,43820,48020,46322,16825,02423,06423,42918,041
444444444111
Indian promoters444444444111
15,26116,07216,24218,89019,43420,47620,45922,16425,02023,06323,42818,040
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. A dash is a line the filing did not state.

TCNS Clothing Co. promoters

Promoters are the founders, families and companies that control the company, as its filings name them. Every member of the promoter group holding shares in the filing for Jun 2024; the largest is ADITYA BIRLA FASHION AND RETAIL LIMITED, 52.01%.

Holder
ADITYA BIRLA FASHION AND RETAIL LIMITEDIndian companies, trusts and others52.01%3,29,08,3250.00%
Pledged is the share of the holder's own shares pledged to a lender.

Largest public holders of TCNS Clothing Co., filing by filing

Per cent, on the same shares as the split above.

HolderSep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024
TA FDI INVESTORS LIMITEDCompanies––––––––15.73%15.73%15.71%7.02%
ONKAR SINGH PASRICHAResident individuals, over ₹2 lakh at face value–––––––––4.54%4.53%4.53%
ANANT KUMAR DAGADirectors and their relatives5.86%5.85%5.85%5.85%5.85%5.84%5.84%7.95%4.38%4.38%4.38%4.38%
ARVINDER SINGH PASRICHAResident individuals, over ₹2 lakh at face value–––––––––3.75%3.75%3.75%
MORGAN STANLEY ASIA (SINGAPORE) PTE.Foreign portfolio investors, category I––––––––2.00%2.00%2.16%2.71%
RAJASTHAN GLOBAL SECURITIES PRIVATE LIMITEDCompanies–––––––––––2.17%
PASHUPATI CAPTIAL SERVICES PVT LTDCompanies–––––––––––1.72%
KHAZANA TRADELINKS PVT LTDCompanies–––––––––––1.56%
JAINAM BROKING LIMITEDCompanies–––––––––––1.32%
VIJAY KUMAR MISRAResident individuals, over ₹2 lakh at face value2.64%2.58%2.55%2.47%2.47%2.46%2.46%2.25%–1.25%1.25%1.25%
GLOBE CAPITAL MARKET LIMITEDCompanies–––––––––1.06%1.39%1.10%
WAGNER LIMITEDCompanies29.28%29.26%29.25%29.24%29.24%29.20%29.19%28.53%––––
NALANDA INDIA EQUITY FUND LIMITEDForeign portfolio investors, category I7.02%7.02%7.01%7.01%7.01%7.00%7.00%6.84%––––
ELEVATION CAPITAL VI FII HOLDINGS LIMITEDForeign portfolio investors, category I5.39%5.39%5.38%5.38%5.38%5.37%5.37%2.05%––––
PROVINCIAL FINANCE AND LEASING COMPANY PRIVATE LIMITEDCompanies–––––––1.65%––––
ALPHA ALTERNATIVES MSAR LLPAlternative investment funds–––––––1.61%––––
STEINBERG INDIA EMERGING OPPORTUNITIES FUND LIMITEDForeign portfolio investors, category I2.32%––1.46%–1.46%1.46%1.38%––––
VIJAY KUMAR THADANIResident individuals, over ₹2 lakh at face value1.22%1.22%1.22%1.22%1.22%1.22%1.22%1.19%––––
AUBURN LIMITEDForeign portfolio investors, category I1.60%1.60%1.60%1.60%1.60%1.60%1.60%–––––
STEINBERG INDIA EMERGING OPPORTUNITIES FUND LIMITEForeign portfolio investors, category I–2.03%1.70%–1.46%–––––––
A filing names every holder above one per cent, in the company's own words: an insurer's holding can carry one of its funds' names. A dash is a filing that did not name the holder, which includes holding under one per cent.

Who moved in the Jun 2024 filing

Against the Mar 2024 filing. A filing names a public holder only at 1% or more, so a holder no longer named fell under 1% or sold out.

  • Foreign institutions: MORGAN STANLEY ASIA (SINGAPORE) PTE. 2.71%, +0.55 pts
  • Individuals and others: TA FDI INVESTORS LIMITED 7.02%, −8.69 pts; RAJASTHAN GLOBAL SECURITIES PRIVATE LIMITED newly named at 2.17%; PASHUPATI CAPTIAL SERVICES PVT LTD newly named at 1.72%; 3 more moved

TCNS Clothing Co. share price by year

Each calendar year to 2024.

YearClose at year endChangeHighest closeLowest close
2024583.95+55.5%608.15333.95
2023375.50−28.4%536.50350.90
2022524.40−32.9%863.85499.60
2021781.50+74.9%910.90396.55
2020446.75−28.0%611.55319.70
2019620.90−8.0%847.20590.25
2018675.00–721.15552.35
₹ per share, adjusted for splits and bonuses since. Change is on the close at the end of the year before. 2018 is from its first session, 30 Jul 2018. The 2024 close is its last trade, on 2 Sep 2024.

Recent sessions

The 10 trading days to 2 Sep 2024, as traded on BSE.

DateOpenHighLowCloseAverage priceVolume
2 Sep 2024579.65589.00562.45583.95574.9616,40,199
30 Aug 2024574.00581.50568.40571.15577.766,27,168
29 Aug 2024583.90583.90565.25573.05570.6016,53,510
28 Aug 2024577.10585.95567.75573.15575.8682,53,964
27 Aug 2024574.90581.40570.75575.75575.0268,024
26 Aug 2024571.90582.95564.15574.35572.631,83,604
23 Aug 2024560.45574.45558.85570.75566.731,16,624
22 Aug 2024568.90569.90557.55560.45564.5335,024
21 Aug 2024576.80576.80564.30566.80568.9914,726
20 Aug 2024569.90576.00560.00572.85568.281,00,084
Prices in ₹ per share as traded, not adjusted.

Company details

BSE code
541700
ISIN
INE778U01029
Industry
Textiles & Apparels
Former symbols
TCNSBRANDS
CIN
L99999MH1997PLC417265
Corporate identity number, the registrar of companies' code for it
Incorporated
1997
Registered office
Piramal Agastya Corporate Park, Building A, Unit No 401, 403, 501, 502, 4th and 5th Floor, L B S Road, Kurla, Mumbai 400070, Maharashtra
Share registrar
KFin Technologies Ltd
Keeps the register of shareholders and handles transfers and dividend payments