Talwalkars Healthclubs share price

BSE: 541545Leisure Services

TALWALKARS HEALTHCLUBS LIMITED · Formerly Talwalkars Lifestyles · Face value ₹10 · Listed Jun 2018

Trading suspended since 23 Mar 2021

Last traded ₹1.05 on 22 Mar 2021

Latest announcements

Routine notices left out.

Share price history

Daily closes since Jun 2018, adjusted for splits and bonuses

Daily close, ₹ per share

Q1 results, quarter to Jun 2019

Consolidated: the company and its subsidiaries together. ₹ crore.

Revenue
₹14 Cr−74.2% on a year ago · −81.6% on the quarter before
Operating profit
−₹6.57 Cr
Net profit
−₹40 Cr
Earnings per share
−₹12.83
Operating margin
−47.3%
Net margin
−286.9%

From revenue to net profit, ₹ crore

  1. Revenue14
  2. Employee costs−11
  3. Other expenses−9.8
  4. Operating profit−6.6
  5. Depreciation−20
  6. Other income+0.8
  7. Finance costs−13
  8. Profit before tax−39
  9. Tax−0.4
  10. Joint ventures−0.7
  11. Net profit−40

Talwalkars Healthclubs results by quarter

Consolidated: the company and its subsidiaries together. Latest quarter to Jun 2019. Results for the quarter to Sep 2019 were due by 14 Nov 2019, 45 days after it ends. Every company's dates are on the results calendar.

Revenue and net profit by quarter, ₹ crore

  • Revenue
  • Net profit
  • Loss
7625Mar 18549.1Jun 189140Sep 18615.7Dec 187519Mar 1914−40Jun 19
Peak revenue ₹91 Cr, quarter to Sep 2018; lowest ₹14 Cr, quarter to Jun 2019A loss in the quarter to Jun 2019, −₹40 Cr

Operating and net margin by quarter, per cent

  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
68.5%−286.9%68.5%46.8%64.1%35.9%48.8%−47.3%33.0%16.9%43.9%9.4%24.6%−286.9%Mar 18Jun 18Sep 18Dec 18Mar 19Jun 19
₹ croreMar 2018Jun 2018Q1Sep 2018Dec 2018worked outMar 2019Jun 2019Q1
Revenue from operations76.553.991.360.975.313.9
24.128.732.839.038.620.5
Materials and goods bought0.00.00.09.77.40.0
Employee costs7.69.710.810.111.210.6
Other expenses16.518.922.019.220.09.8
Operating profit before depreciation52.425.258.521.936.8−6.6
Operating margin68.5%46.8%64.1%35.9%48.8%−47.3%
Depreciation and amortisation7.68.18.99.110.119.5
Other income1.20.40.70.62.50.8
Finance costs3.24.75.06.05.713.4
Profit before one-off items and tax42.712.945.27.523.5−38.7
One-off items0.10.00.00.00.30.0
Profit before tax42.812.945.27.523.8−38.7
18.34.36.22.65.30.4
Tax rate42.6%33.1%13.8%34.3%22.2%–
Share of profit of joint ventures and associates0.70.51.10.8–−0.7
25.29.140.15.718.5−39.9
Other comprehensive income0.00.00.40.0−0.20.1
Total comprehensive income25.39.140.55.718.3−39.8
Net margin33.0%16.9%43.9%9.4%24.6%−286.9%
Net margin without joint ventures and associates32.1%16.0%42.7%8.1%–−281.9%
Earnings per share₹7.99₹2.87₹11.75–₹7.08−₹12.83
Earnings per share in rupees, restated for later splits and bonuses.

2 years at a glance

Consolidated: the company and its subsidiaries together. ₹ crore, years to March.

Revenue, net profit and borrowings, ₹ crore

  • Revenue
  • Net profit
  • Borrowings
24770301Mar 1828173434Mar 19
Peak revenue ₹281 Cr, year to Mar 2019; lowest ₹247 Cr, year to Mar 2018

Operating and net margin, per cent

  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
56.3%26.1%56.3%50.6%28.4%26.1%Mar 18Mar 19

Results for the year to Mar 2019

Consolidated: the company and its subsidiaries together. ₹ crore.

From revenue to net profit

  1. Revenue281
  2. Materials and goods−17
  3. Employee costs−42
  4. Other expenses−80
  5. Operating profit142
  6. Depreciation−36
  7. Other income+4.3
  8. One-off items+0.3
  9. Finance costs−21
  10. Profit before tax89
  11. Tax−18
  12. Joint ventures+2.4
  13. Net profit73

What the company owns

  • Plant, investments and other assets₹1,003 Cr
  • Cash and bank₹47 Cr
  • Receivables₹30 Cr
  • Inventory₹9 Cr
  • Current investments₹1 Cr

What pays for it: net worth and liabilities

  • Net worth₹504 Cr
  • Borrowings₹434 Cr
  • Other liabilities₹142 Cr
  • Owed to suppliers₹9 Cr

Profit and loss

Consolidated, ₹ crore, years to March. The last column is the twelve months to Jun 2019, the latest four quarters added.

₹ croreMar 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Twelve months
Revenue from operations247281241
108139131
Materials and goods bought01717
Employee costs364243
Other expenses728071
Operating profit before depreciation139142111
Operating margin56.3%50.6%45.8%
Materials, % of revenue0.0%6.1%7.1%
Employee costs, % of revenue14.4%14.9%17.7%
Other expenses, % of revenue29.2%28.5%29.4%
Depreciation and amortisation303648
Operating profit after depreciation10910663
Other income1245
Finance costs172130
Profit before one-off items and tax1048937
One-off items000
Profit before tax1048938
361814
Share of profit of joint ventures and associates121
707324
Other comprehensive income000
Total comprehensive income707425
Net margin28.4%26.1%10.1%
Net margin without joint ventures and associates27.8%25.2%–

Balance sheet

Consolidated, ₹ crore, at 31 March.

₹ croreMar 2018Mar 2019
437504
434504
Share capital3131
Reserves403473
Belonging to outside owners of subsidiaries2–
301434
89143
313442
Total assets8391,090
676888
163202
Net debt249386
Borrowings are counted again inside the liabilities due within a year and after a year.

Per share

Consolidated, ₹ per share, years to March.

₹ per shareMar 2018Mar 2019
Earnings per share₹22.36₹23.43
Diluted earnings per share₹22.36₹23.43
Dividend per share₹1.00–
Book value per share₹140.05₹162.68
Dividend payout4.5%–
Market cap at the year end (₹ crore)–373

Ratios

Consolidated, years to March.

RatioMar 2018Mar 2019
Revenue growth–13.9%
Operating profit growth–2.2%
Net profit growth–4.7%
Earnings per share growth–4.8%
16.0%15.7%
–−0.3 pts
From the net margin–−1.1 pts
From asset turnover–−0.1 pts
From borrowing–0.9 pts
Return on capital employed14.8%11.3%
Interest cover6.55.0
Debt to equity0.690.86
Receivable days2138
Inventory days–202
Payable days–202
Cash conversion cycle, days–39
Working capital days3315
Asset turnover0.290.29
Assets per rupee of net worth1.932.05
Sales per rupee of plant0.720.63
Plant being built, % of plant in use15.8%13.9%

Growth and returns over 3, 5 and 10 years

Consolidated: the company and its subsidiaries together. Each window ends with the year to Mar 2019.

Return on assets, latest year
7.6%
Measure3 years
Return on equity, average15.8%
Return on capital employed, average13.0%
Operating margin, average53.5%
Net margin, average27.2%
Asset turnover, average0.29
Interest cover, average5.7
Debt to equity, average0.78

Accounting checks

Consolidated, years to March. Published tests of whether reported profit is backed by cash and the balance sheet.

CheckMar 2018Mar 2019
Altman Z-scorePublished threshold 1.14.263.36
Receivables growth less revenue growthOur threshold 0 percentage points–99.00
Other current assets growth less revenue growthOur threshold 5 per cent of revenue–0.18
Assets under construction, years of additionsOur threshold 2 years of additions–0.45
Effective tax ratePublished threshold 17.16 per cent34.1320.51
A threshold marked as ours has no published figure; it is the line we read the check against.

Credit ratings

An agency's view of the chance the company repays a borrowing on time, from AAA, the highest, down to D, in default.

DateAgencyBorrowing ratedRatingOutlookAmount, ₹ Cr
11 May 2026CARE Ratings LimitedDebentures-Non Convertible DebenturesLong-term scaleCARE D; ISSUER NOT COOPERATING*Review, Re-affirm25
11 May 2026CARE Ratings LimitedDebentures-Non Convertible DebenturesLong-term scaleCARE D; ISSUER NOT COOPERATING*Review, Re-affirm8.34
11 May 2026CARE Ratings LimitedDebentures-Non Convertible DebenturesLong-term scaleCARE D; ISSUER NOT COOPERATING*Review, Re-affirm30
11 May 2026CARE Ratings LimitedFund-based-Long TermLong-term scaleCARE D; ISSUER NOT COOPERATING*Review, Re-affirm280.74
The latest rating on each borrowing. The agency's name opens its reasoning for the rating.

Business segments

In the year to Mar 2019 the company reports one business segment, HEALTH AND FITNESS SERVICES, which carries all its revenue.

Who owns Talwalkars Healthclubs, filing by filing

Per cent of the company's shares. Every filing on record, from Mar 2021; the latest is the filing for Mar 2022.

Per centMar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022
31.61%31.61%31.61%31.61%31.61%
Indian promoters31.61%31.61%31.61%31.61%31.61%
Public68.38%68.39%68.38%68.39%68.39%
Promoter shares pledgedShare of the promoters' own shares74.39%74.39%74.39%74.39%74.39%
Shares in issue3,10,04,8563,10,04,8563,10,04,8563,10,04,8563,10,04,856
Pledged is the share of the promoters' own shares given to lenders as security. A dash is a line the filing did not state.

Number of Talwalkars Healthclubs shareholders

Shareholders on the company's register in each filing.

Shareholders, filing by filing

19,398Mar 2119,391Jun 2119,386Sep 2119,386Dec 2119,368Mar 22
ShareholdersMar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022
All shareholders19,39819,39119,38619,38619,368
77777
Indian promoters77777
Public19,39119,38419,37919,37919,361
A dash is a line the filing did not state.

Talwalkars Healthclubs promoters

Promoters are the founders, families and companies that control the company, as its filings name them. Every member of the promoter group holding shares in the filing for Mar 2022; the largest is Prashant Sudhakar Talwalkar, 9.31%.

Holder
Prashant Sudhakar TalwalkarIndividuals and Hindu undivided families9.31%28,87,78065.79%
Anant Ratnakar GawandeIndividuals and Hindu undivided families7.89%24,45,20073.61%
Girish Madhukar TalwalkarIndividuals and Hindu undivided families5.94%18,40,98096.90%
Harsha Ramdas BhatkalIndividuals and Hindu undivided families5.00%15,50,20080.63%
Vinayak R GawandeIndividuals and Hindu undivided families1.83%5,66,90097.90%
Madhukar Vishnu TalwalkarIndividuals and Hindu undivided families1.35%4,20,0000.00%
Better Value Leasing & Finance LtdIndian companies, trusts and others0.29%91,1743.29%
Pledged is the share of the holder's own shares pledged to a lender.

Largest public holders of Talwalkars Healthclubs, filing by filing

Per cent, on the same shares as the split above.

HolderMar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022
ANAND RATHI GLOBAL FINANCE LIMITEDOther non-institutions4.16%41.61%4.16%4.16%4.16%
LAKSHMI SHIVANAND MANKEKARResident individuals, over ₹2 lakh at face value––4.06%4.06%4.06%
SHUVANAND SHANKAR MANKEKAR HUFOther non-institutions––2.24%2.24%2.24%
IDFC FIRST BANK LIMITEDOther non-institutions1.89%1.89%1.89%1.89%1.89%
vanij trading llpOther non-institutions––––1.39%
KSHITIJ PORTFOLIO PRIVATE LIMITEDOther non-institutions1.34%1.34%1.34%1.34%1.34%
SONA BISCUITS LIMITEDOther non-institutions1.39%1.39%1.39%1.39%–
LAXMI SHIVANAND MANKEKARResident individuals, over ₹2 lakh at face value–4.06%–––
SHIVANAND SHANKAR MANKEKAR HUFOther non-institutions–2.24%–––
LAXMI SHIVANAD MANEKARResident individuals, over ₹2 lakh at face value4.06%––––
SHIVANAD SHANKAR MANKEKAR HUFOther non-institutions2.24%––––
A filing names every holder above one per cent, in the company's own words: an insurer's holding can carry one of its funds' names. A dash is a filing that did not name the holder, which includes holding under one per cent.

Talwalkars Healthclubs dividend calendar

Each payment in the month it went ex, as declared, ₹ a share at the time. Years running counted to the year to Mar 2019.

Dividends by the month each went ex
YearJanFebMarAprMayJunJulAugSepOctNovDecIn the year
2018₹1.00₹1.00

Interim or final dividendSpecial dividendNone that month

Dividends by year

The share of each year's profit paid out, for the year it was paid for.

Share of profit paid out, %, where the year's results are on record

4.5Mar 18Mar 19Mar 20Mar 21Mar 22Mar 23Mar 24Mar 25Mar 26
Highest 4% of profit, year to Mar 2018.

Talwalkars Healthclubs dividend history

Every payment with its ex-date and record date, year by year.

2018

  • Sep19Wed

    ₹1.00Final

    Ex-date 19 Sep 2018 · books closed to 26 Sep 2018 · announced 12 Jul 2018

    0.69%of the price

Grouped by the calendar year each went ex, so a year's total here can differ from the year it was paid for above. Of the price is the dividend as a share of the close on the session before its ex-date. A book closure is the run of days the company's register is frozen to settle who is paid; a record date is the one-day form of it.

Talwalkars Healthclubs share price by year

Each calendar year to 2021.

YearClose at year endChangeHighest closeLowest close
20211.05−25.0%1.401.00
20201.40−55.6%3.450.60
20193.15−97.2%133.202.85
2018112.85–168.70107.65
₹ per share, adjusted for splits and bonuses since. Change is on the close at the end of the year before. 2018 is from its first session, 29 Jun 2018. The 2021 close is its last trade, on 22 Mar 2021.

Recent sessions

The 10 trading days to 22 Mar 2021, as traded on BSE.

DateOpenHighLowCloseAverage priceVolume
22 Mar 20211.001.050.951.051.0321,050
15 Mar 20211.001.101.001.001.0151,486
8 Mar 20211.101.151.051.051.0556,572
1 Mar 20211.151.151.101.101.138,290
22 Feb 20211.201.251.151.151.2190,088
15 Feb 20211.201.201.201.201.2016,295
8 Feb 20211.301.301.251.251.2538,624
1 Feb 20211.351.351.301.301.3039,369
25 Jan 20211.401.401.351.351.357,971
18 Jan 20211.301.401.301.401.3434,459
Prices in ₹ per share as traded, not adjusted.

Price adjustments

What the price chart is corrected for, so it reads as one share held throughout.

Ex-dateEventPrice factorWhat happened
18 Jul 2019Price move–Between two trading sessions the price moved by a fifth or more. The company made an announcement in time for trading that day or the trading day before. Not adjusted for.
Each event is noted and not adjusted for.

Company details

BSE code
541545
ISIN
INE627Z01019
Industry
Leisure Services
Former symbols
TALWGYM
CIN
U93090MH2016PLC280127
Corporate identity number, the registrar of companies' code for it
Incorporated
2016
Registered office
801-813, 22, Mahalaxmi Chambers, Bhulabhai Desai Road, Mumbai 400026, Maharashtra
Share registrar
MUFG Intime India Pvt. Ltd
Keeps the register of shareholders and handles transfers and dividend payments