Sundaram Finance logo

Sundaram Finance shareholders and shareholding pattern

NSE: SUNDARMFINBSE: 590071FinanceMid Cap

Sundaram Finance Limited · Face value ₹10 · Listed Jan 1998 on NSE, Dec 2006 on BSE
Last close ₹3,941.00down ₹7.40 (0.19%)BSE ₹3,937.75

Share price at the NSE close on 30 Oct 2026. Previous close ₹3,948.40.

30 Oct: open ₹3,948.40, high ₹4,001.20, low ₹3,862.00

52-week range of traded prices to 30 Oct 2026
₹3,816.00Low, 26 Oct 2026₹5,642.00High, 4 Mar 2026
Market cap
₹43,786 Cr192nd largest listed
P/E
19.72
P/B
2.94
Dividend yield
1.02%
ROE
15.8%
NIM
4.60%
Cost of funds
7.26%
Credit cost
0.80%
ROA
2.56%
Leverage
5.74times net worth
Volume, NSE
65,54760.3% delivered

Sundaram Finance's shareholding pattern for Sep 2026, filed on 15 Oct 2026, with every filing from Dec 2016: who owns its shares by group, its promoters by name and its public holders of 1% or more.

Who owns Sundaram Finance, filing by filing

Per cent of all the company's shares, counting those held against depositary receipts traded abroad where a filing has them.

Sep 2026 filing

  • Promoters37.19%
  • Foreign institutions17.99%
  • Indian institutions8.88%
  • GovernmentsNone
  • Individuals and others35.15%
  • Employee trusts0.78%
  • Depositary receiptsNone

Shareholding pattern, per cent, from Sep 2022

  • Promoters
  • Foreign institutions
  • Indian institutions
  • Governments
  • Individuals and others
  • Employee trusts
  • Depositary receipts
38.49%0.00%37.19%17.99%8.88%35.15%0.78%Sep 22Jun 23Mar 24Dec 24Sep 25Sep 26
Per centDec 2016FilingMar 2017FilingJun 2017FilingSep 2017FilingDec 2017FilingMar 2018FilingSep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Dec 2019FilingMar 2020FilingJun 2020FilingSep 2020FilingDec 2020FilingSep 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
36.08%36.05%35.95%35.95%35.95%35.95%36.45%36.45%36.47%36.38%35.95%35.93%35.93%35.93%35.91%35.89%38.49%38.49%38.49%38.49%38.49%38.49%38.49%37.88%37.87%37.86%37.23%37.22%37.22%37.22%37.22%37.21%37.21%37.21%37.19%
Indian promoters––––––35.53%35.53%35.54%35.45%–––––35.00%37.60%37.60%37.60%37.60%37.60%37.50%36.08%35.48%35.47%35.47%35.00%35.00%35.52%35.52%35.52%35.26%36.44%36.44%36.44%
Foreign promoters––––––0.92%0.91%0.92%0.92%–––––0.89%0.89%0.89%0.89%0.89%0.89%0.99%2.41%2.40%2.40%2.39%2.23%2.22%1.70%1.70%1.69%1.95%0.77%0.77%0.75%
63.02%63.06%63.17%63.17%63.17%63.16%62.69%62.69%62.67%62.76%63.20%63.23%63.24%63.24%63.26%63.28%60.68%60.70%60.69%60.69%60.69%60.70%60.71%61.32%61.32%61.34%61.96%61.97%61.98%61.98%61.98%61.99%62.00%62.01%62.03%
Employee trusts0.89%0.89%0.88%0.88%0.88%0.88%0.86%0.86%0.86%–0.00%0.85%0.83%0.83%0.83%0.82%0.82%0.82%0.82%0.82%0.82%0.81%0.81%0.81%0.81%0.80%0.80%0.80%0.80%0.80%0.80%0.80%0.80%0.78%0.78%
Depositary receipts–––––––––0.86%0.85%––––––––––––––––––––––––
Shares in issue11,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,86011,11,03,860
Shares underlying depositary receipts000000–––9,60,9609,41,710000000000000000000––––––
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. A dash is a line the filing did not state. “Under 0.01%” is a holding of shares too small to show at two decimals.

Number of Sundaram Finance shareholders

Shareholders on the company's register in each filing.

Shareholders, filing by filing

23,181Dec 1623,633Mar 1724,021Jun 1725,778Sep 1726,099Dec 1725,847Mar 1826,384Sep 1825,936Dec 1824,659Mar 1926,347Jun 1927,547Dec 1927,302Mar 2025,224Jun 2025,591Sep 2024,087Dec 2022,013Sep 2124,149Mar 2224,827Jun 2224,073Sep 2223,693Dec 2223,652Mar 2335,741Jun 2341,738Sep 2342,597Dec 2342,288Mar 2443,762Jun 2444,168Sep 2445,966Dec 2446,076Mar 2549,279Jun 2555,894Sep 2555,416Dec 2557,271Mar 2656,309Jun 2654,438Sep 26
ShareholdersDec 2016FilingMar 2017FilingJun 2017FilingSep 2017FilingDec 2017FilingMar 2018FilingSep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Dec 2019FilingMar 2020FilingJun 2020FilingSep 2020FilingDec 2020FilingSep 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
All shareholders23,18123,63324,02125,77826,09925,84726,38425,93624,65926,34727,54727,30225,22425,59124,08722,01324,14924,82724,07323,69323,65235,74141,73842,59742,28843,76244,16845,96646,07649,27955,89455,41657,27156,30954,438
116116116116116117119119117115110110110110107106105105105105104104104104104104100100101101100100100100100
Indian promoters––––––113113111109–––––101100100100100999896969696939395959493949494
Foreign promoters––––––6666–––––55555568888776667666
23,06423,51623,90425,66125,98225,72926,26425,81624,54126,23127,43627,19125,11325,48023,97921,90624,04324,72123,96723,58723,54735,63641,63342,49242,18343,65744,06745,86545,97449,17755,79355,31557,17056,20854,337
Employee trusts111111111–0111111111111111111111111
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. A dash is a line the filing did not state.

Sundaram Finance promoters

Promoters are the founders, families and companies that control the company, as its filings name them. Every member of the promoter group holding shares in the filing for Sep 2026; the largest is INDIA MOTOR PARTS AND ACCESSORIES LIMITED, 2.61%. The filing names 16 more members with no shares.Promoter buying and selling

Holder
INDIA MOTOR PARTS AND ACCESSORIES LIMITEDIndian companies, trusts and others2.61%28,98,600
RAGHUVAMSA HOLDINGS PRIVATE LIMITEDIndian companies, trusts and others1.67%18,51,634
MR HARSHA VIJIIndividuals and Hindu undivided families1.63%18,05,692
MR SRIVATS RAMIndividuals and Hindu undivided families1.53%17,01,322
MRS NIVEDITA RAMIndividuals and Hindu undivided families1.48%16,49,516
UTHIRATTADHI SRIRAM HOLDINGS PRIVATE LIMITEDIndian companies, trusts and others1.33%14,79,560
SILVER OAK HOLDINGS PRIVATE LIMITEDIndian companies, trusts and others1.29%14,36,914
MR ARJUN RANGARAJANIndividuals and Hindu undivided families1.18%13,08,270
ROHINI HOLDINGS PRIVATE LIMITEDIndian companies, trusts and others1.17%12,94,362
PADMALAKSHMI HOLDINGS PRIVATE LIMITEDIndian companies, trusts and others1.16%12,92,832
MR S VIJIIndividuals and Hindu undivided families1.15%12,75,704
MR SRIRAM VIJIIndividuals and Hindu undivided families1.15%12,78,620
No promoter shares are reported as pledged.

Largest public holders of Sundaram Finance, filing by filing

Per cent, on the same shares as the split above.Mutual funds holding Sundaram Finance

HolderSep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Dec 2019FilingMar 2020FilingJun 2020FilingSep 2020FilingDec 2020FilingSep 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
NALANDA INDIA EQUITY FUND LIMITEDForeign portfolio investors, category I–––––––––3.78%3.78%3.78%–––––––––––3.62%3.62%3.62%3.62%3.62%3.58%
BRIGHT STAR INVESTMENTS PRIVATE LIMITEDCompanies2.37%2.37%2.37%2.37%–––––2.37%2.37%2.37%–––––––––––2.37%2.37%––2.37%2.37%
UNITED INDIA INSURANCE COMPANY LIMITEDInsurance companies1.41%1.41%1.41%1.41%–––––1.41%1.41%1.41%–––––––––––1.09%1.09%1.06%1.05%1.05%1.05%
NALANDA INDIA EQUITY FUND nLIMITEDForeign portfolio investors, category I––––––––––––3.78%3.78%3.78%3.78%3.78%3.78%3.78%3.62%3.62%3.62%3.62%––––––
UNITED INDIA INSURANCE COMPANYnLIMITEDInsurance companies––––––––––––1.34%1.28%1.25%1.24%1.16%1.13%1.13%1.13%1.13%1.13%1.09%––––––
BRIGHT STAR INVESTMENTS PVT nLTDCompanies––––––––––––2.37%2.37%2.37%2.37%2.37%2.37%2.37%2.37%2.37%2.37%–––––––
HDFC LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY nLIMITEDInsurance companies––––––––––––2.03%2.03%1.98%1.89%1.79%1.57%1.19%––––––––––
PARI WASHINGTON INDIA MASTER nFUND, LTD.Foreign portfolio investors, category I––––––––––––1.09%1.09%1.09%1.09%1.09%1.09%1.00%––––––––––
HDFC LIFE INSURANCE COMPANYLIMITEDInsurance companies––––––––––1.98%2.11%–––––––––––––––––
Pari Washington India Master Fund Ltd`Institutions Foreign Portfolio Investor––––––––––1.09%1.09%–––––––––––––––––
Damani Estate and Private LimitedOther non-institutions–––––––––––0.93%–––––––––––––––––
DAMANI ESTATE AND FINANCE PVT LtdOther non-institutions––––––––––0.93%––––––––––––––––––
INDIA MOTOR PARTS & ACCESSORIES LIMITEDOther non-institutions2.57%2.57%2.57%2.57%–––––2.61%–––––––––––––––––––
HDFC LIFE INSURANCE COMPANYLIMITED -SHAREHOLDERS SOLVENCY MARGIN ACCOUNTInsurance companies–––––––––1.82%–––––––––––––––––––
PARI WASHINGTON COMPANY PRIVATE LIMITED A/C PARI WASHINGTON INDIA MASTER FUND LIMITEDInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor6.50%1.55%1.71%1.71%–––––1.19%–––––––––––––––––––
HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company LtdOther non-institutions1.43%1.59%1.56%1.58%–––––––––––––––––––––––––
A filing names every holder above one per cent, in the company's own words: an insurer's holding can carry one of its funds' names. Mutual funds are left out here: each fund's holding is on the Mutual funds tab, from its own portfolio. A dash is a filing that did not name the holder, which includes holding under one per cent.

Who moved in the Sep 2026 filing

Against the Jun 2026 filing. A filing names a public holder only at 1% or more, so a holder no longer named fell under 1% or sold out.

  • Foreign institutions: NALANDA INDIA EQUITY FUND LIMITED 3.58%, −0.04 pts