Jagran Prakashan logo

Jagran Prakashan shareholders and shareholding pattern

NSE: JAGRANBSE: 532705MediaSmall Cap

Jagran Prakashan Limited · Face value ₹2 · Listed Feb 2006
Last close ₹61.91up ₹0.06 (0.10%)BSE ₹61.91

Share price at the NSE close on 29 Oct 2026. Previous close ₹61.85.

29 Oct: open ₹61.98, high ₹62.00, low ₹61.50

52-week range of traded prices to 29 Oct 2026
₹57.73Low, 26 Oct 2026₹78.90High, 3 Jun 2026
Market cap
₹1,347 Cr1,300th largest listed
P/E
7.15
P/B
0.67
Dividend yield
16.15%
ROE
9.5%
ROCE
8.0%
Debt to equity
0.02
Volume, NSE
1,57,80069.4% delivered

Jagran Prakashan's shareholding pattern for Sep 2026, filed on 5 Oct 2026, with every filing from Dec 2016: who owns its shares by group, its promoters by name and its public holders of 1% or more.

Who owns Jagran Prakashan, filing by filing

Per cent of the company's shares.

Sep 2026 filing

  • Promoters69.00%
  • Foreign institutions2.19%
  • Indian institutions3.43%
  • GovernmentsNone
  • Individuals and others25.38%

Shareholding pattern, per cent, from Sep 2022

  • Promoters
  • Foreign institutions
  • Indian institutions
  • Governments
  • Individuals and others
69.41%2.19%69.00%2.19%3.43%25.38%Sep 22Jun 23Mar 24Dec 24Sep 25Sep 26
Per centDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
60.76%60.76%60.85%60.85%60.85%60.85%60.85%61.31%61.31%61.31%61.31%61.60%62.10%65.02%65.02%65.07%65.07%65.78%69.40%69.40%69.40%69.40%69.41%69.41%69.41%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%
Indian promoters60.76%60.76%60.85%60.85%60.85%60.85%60.85%61.31%61.31%61.31%61.31%61.60%62.10%65.02%65.02%65.07%65.07%65.78%69.40%69.40%69.40%69.40%69.41%69.41%69.41%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%69.00%68.99%68.99%68.99%68.99%68.99%68.99%
Foreign promoters–––––––––––––––––––0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.01%0.01%0.01%0.01%0.01%0.01%
39.24%39.24%39.15%39.15%39.15%39.15%39.15%38.69%38.69%38.69%38.69%38.40%37.90%34.98%34.98%34.93%34.93%34.22%30.60%30.60%30.60%30.60%30.59%30.59%30.59%31.00%31.00%31.00%31.00%31.00%31.00%31.00%31.00%31.00%31.00%31.00%31.00%31.00%31.00%31.00%
Promoter shares pledgedShare of the promoters' own shares0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%100.00%100.00%99.99%99.99%99.99%99.99%99.99%99.99%99.98%99.98%99.98%99.97%99.97%99.97%99.97%99.97%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%
Shares in issue32,69,11,82932,69,11,82931,14,11,82931,14,11,82931,14,11,82931,14,11,82931,14,11,82929,64,11,82929,64,11,82929,64,11,82929,64,11,82929,64,11,82929,41,22,34328,12,00,00028,12,00,00028,12,00,00028,12,00,00027,81,81,04526,36,54,27226,36,54,27226,36,54,27226,36,54,27226,36,54,27226,36,54,27226,36,54,27221,76,54,27221,76,54,27221,76,54,27221,76,54,27221,76,54,27221,76,54,27221,76,54,27221,76,54,27221,76,54,27221,76,54,27221,76,54,27221,76,54,27221,76,54,27221,76,54,27221,76,54,272
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. Pledged is the share of the promoters' own shares given to lenders as security. A dash is a line the filing did not state. “Under 0.01%” is a holding of shares too small to show at two decimals.

Number of Jagran Prakashan shareholders

Shareholders on the company's register in each filing.

Shareholders, filing by filing

33,306Dec 1634,767Mar 1731,941Jun 1731,773Sep 1733,772Dec 1737,366Mar 1844,274Jun 1844,705Sep 1844,964Dec 1844,204Mar 1943,576Jun 1944,571Sep 1946,150Dec 1944,775Mar 2055,750Jun 2058,984Sep 2054,441Dec 2054,084Mar 2151,442Jun 2148,053Sep 2146,155Dec 2149,706Mar 2250,008Jun 2249,267Sep 2247,510Dec 2243,623Mar 2342,825Jun 2342,141Sep 2343,291Dec 2348,726Mar 2450,935Jun 2452,948Sep 2456,347Dec 2460,406Mar 2565,498Jun 2566,174Sep 2567,792Dec 2571,629Mar 2677,927Jun 2681,564Sep 26
ShareholdersDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
All shareholders33,30634,76731,94131,77333,77237,36644,27444,70544,96444,20443,57644,57146,15044,77555,75058,98454,44154,08451,44248,05346,15549,70650,00849,26747,51043,62342,82542,14143,29148,72650,93552,94856,34760,40665,49866,17467,79271,62977,92781,564
11111111111111121212121617171717171717171717171717171717171717171717171717171717
Indian promoters11111111111111121212121617171717171717171717171717171717171717171717161616161616
Foreign promoters–––––––––––––––––––000000000000000111111
33,29534,75631,93031,76233,76137,35544,26344,69344,95244,19243,56444,55546,13344,75855,73358,96754,42454,06751,42548,03646,13849,68949,99149,25047,49343,60642,80842,12443,27448,70950,91852,93156,33060,38965,48166,15767,77571,61277,91081,547
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. A dash is a line the filing did not state.

Jagran Prakashan promoters

Promoters are the founders, families and companies that control the company, as its filings name them. Every member of the promoter group holding shares in the filing for Sep 2026; the largest is JAGRAN MEDIA NETWORK INVESTMENT PRIVATE LIMITED, 67.97%. The filing names 4 more members with no shares.Promoter buying and selling

Holder
JAGRAN MEDIA NETWORK INVESTMENT PRIVATE LIMITEDIndian companies, trusts and others67.97%14,79,31,155
VRSM ENTERPRISES LLPIndian companies, trusts and others0.23%5,09,848
SHAILENDRA MOHAN GUPTAIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.18%3,83,600
DHIRENDRA MOHAN GUPTAIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.12%2,69,078
SAMEER GUPTAIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.07%1,59,856
VIJAYA GUPTAIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.07%1,56,000
MAHENDRA MOHAN GUPTAIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.06%1,25,359
TARUN GUPTAIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.06%1,34,200
SUNIL GUPTAIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.05%1,00,000
DEVESH GUPTAIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.05%1,00,000
DEVENDRA MOHAN GUPTAIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.05%1,17,890
SANDEEP GUPTAIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.03%68,336
No promoter shares are reported as pledged.

Largest public holders of Jagran Prakashan, filing by filing

Per cent, on the same shares as the split above.

HolderDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
AEQUITAS EQUITY SCHEME IAlternative investment funds–––––––––––––––––––––––––1.40%–––1.15%––––––––––
AEQUITAS EQUITY SCHEME 1Alternative investment funds––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.66%1.59%1.38%–––––––––––
RAJASTHAN GLOBALSECURITIES PRIVATE LIMITEDOther non-institutions––––––––––––––––––1.04%–––––––––––––––––––––
ROHINI NILEKANIResident individuals, over ₹2 lakh at face value–––––––––––––1.02%1.02%––1.01%––––––––––––––––––––––
PARI WASHINGTON INDIA MASTER FUND, LTD.Institutions Foreign Portfolio Investor1.28%1.28%1.34%1.34%1.34%1.34%1.34%1.34%1.34%1.95%1.95%1.95%1.96%2.04%1.38%–––––––––––––––––––––––––
ICICI PRUDENTIAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY LIMITEDOther Institutions4.34%4.33%4.57%4.86%5.00%4.97%4.97%4.98%4.98%4.87%5.12%3.68%3.04%1.81%––––––––––––––––––––––––––
ICICI LOMBARD GENERAL INSURANCE COMPANY LTDOther Institutions–––1.42%1.49%1.49%1.49%1.75%1.75%1.75%1.75%1.70%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
HDFC LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY LIMITEDOther Institutions–––––––––1.93%1.68%1.52%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
HDFC STANDARD LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY LIMITEDOther non-institutions1.64%1.78%2.01%2.03%2.03%2.16%2.29%2.29%2.27%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
COMGEST GROWTH PLC - COMGEST GROWTH INDIAInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor–––1.10%1.10%1.10%1.10%1.10%1.10%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
FRANKLIN TEMPLETON INVESTMENT FUNDSInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor3.53%3.53%3.71%3.71%3.44%1.58%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
NTASIAN DISCOVERY MASTER FUNDInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor4.34%3.54%3.45%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
A filing names every holder above one per cent, in the company's own words: an insurer's holding can carry one of its funds' names. A dash is a filing that did not name the holder, which includes holding under one per cent.