Carborundum Universal logo

Carborundum Universal shareholders and shareholding pattern

NSE: CARBORUNIVBSE: 513375Industrial ProductsSmall Cap

Carborundum Universal Limited · Face value ₹1 · Listed Nov 1992 on BSE, Apr 1996 on NSE
Last close ₹1,086.20up ₹0.10 (0.01%)BSE ₹1,084.65

Share price at the NSE close on 29 Oct 2026. Previous close ₹1,086.10.

29 Oct: open ₹1,094.50, high ₹1,094.50, low ₹1,058.10

52-week range of traded prices to 29 Oct 2026
₹735.20Low, 23 Mar 2026₹1,368.90High, 24 Sep 2026
Market cap
₹20,693 Cr382nd largest listed
P/E
98.89
P/E without one-offs
60.19
P/B
5.31
Dividend yield
0.37%
ROE
5.6%
ROE without one-offs
9.3%
ROCE
7.9%
Debt to equity
0.08
Volume, NSE
1,41,54648.8% delivered

Carborundum Universal's shareholding pattern for Sep 2026, filed on 20 Oct 2026, with every filing from Dec 2016: who owns its shares by group, its promoters by name and its public holders of 1% or more.

Who owns Carborundum Universal, filing by filing

Per cent of the company's shares.

Sep 2026 filing

  • Promoters38.84%
  • Foreign institutions11.10%
  • Indian institutions28.76%
  • Governments0.01%
  • Individuals and others21.29%

Shareholding pattern, per cent, from Sep 2022

  • Promoters
  • Foreign institutions
  • Indian institutions
  • Governments
  • Individuals and others
41.90%0.01%38.84%11.10%28.76%0.01%21.29%Sep 22Jun 23Mar 24Dec 24Sep 25Sep 26
Per centDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
43.76%43.76%43.76%43.74%43.73%42.42%42.40%42.40%42.39%42.37%42.11%42.08%42.08%42.05%42.05%42.04%42.04%42.01%42.00%41.96%41.96%41.94%41.92%41.90%41.89%41.52%41.50%41.28%41.28%41.23%41.16%41.04%39.82%39.82%39.23%38.96%38.90%38.89%38.89%38.84%
Indian promoters43.61%43.60%43.60%43.59%43.58%42.42%42.40%42.37%42.37%42.35%42.08%42.05%42.05%42.02%42.02%42.02%42.01%41.98%41.98%41.94%41.93%41.43%41.41%41.39%41.38%41.01%40.99%40.77%40.77%40.72%40.65%40.53%39.80%39.79%39.20%38.94%38.87%38.86%38.87%38.81%
Foreign promoters0.15%0.15%0.15%0.15%0.15%––0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.51%0.51%0.51%0.51%0.51%0.51%0.51%0.51%0.51%0.51%0.51%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%
56.24%56.24%56.24%56.26%56.27%57.58%57.60%57.60%57.61%57.63%57.89%57.92%57.92%57.95%57.95%57.96%57.96%57.99%58.00%58.04%58.04%58.06%58.08%58.10%58.11%58.48%58.50%58.72%58.72%58.77%58.84%58.96%60.18%60.18%60.77%61.04%61.10%61.11%61.11%61.16%
Promoter shares pledgedShare of the promoters' own shares0.20%0.20%0.16%0.16%0.16%0.16%0.16%0.16%0.16%0.10%0.10%0.04%0.04%0.04%0.02%0.02%0.02%0.02%0.02%0.02%0.14%0.14%0.14%0.14%0.14%0.02%0.02%0.02%0.02%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%
Shares in issue18,86,24,59018,86,58,09018,86,66,09018,88,43,94918,88,83,55318,89,55,75118,90,16,97118,90,48,10318,90,72,97118,91,54,17518,91,56,39918,92,80,20218,92,85,70218,94,12,19618,94,12,19618,94,40,87818,94,65,32618,95,90,83918,96,23,83918,97,63,53918,98,00,35318,98,56,70318,98,79,35218,98,81,85218,99,03,61318,99,43,97418,99,43,97419,00,38,40419,00,54,90419,02,57,60819,02,57,60819,03,08,16819,03,85,56419,04,22,71819,04,23,71819,04,37,98819,04,47,86419,04,92,50219,04,93,50219,05,05,384
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. Pledged is the share of the promoters' own shares given to lenders as security. A dash is a line the filing did not state. “Under 0.01%” is a holding of shares too small to show at two decimals.

Number of Carborundum Universal shareholders

Shareholders on the company's register in each filing.

Shareholders, filing by filing

25,267Dec 1626,678Mar 1725,442Jun 1725,847Sep 1726,649Dec 1725,864Mar 1826,610Jun 1825,760Sep 1825,394Dec 1824,604Mar 1925,195Jun 1925,747Sep 1924,179Dec 1923,457Mar 2031,184Jun 2041,824Sep 2036,621Dec 2039,281Mar 2144,305Jun 2151,276Sep 2159,928Dec 2158,662Mar 2256,415Jun 2256,628Sep 2252,780Dec 2248,734Mar 2357,158Jun 2357,101Sep 2356,669Dec 2352,943Mar 2464,342Jun 2467,734Sep 2469,300Dec 2471,711Mar 2569,834Jun 2569,083Sep 2562,427Dec 2565,914Mar 2664,977Jun 2668,278Sep 26
ShareholdersDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
All shareholders25,26726,67825,44225,84726,64925,86426,61025,76025,39424,60425,19525,74724,17923,45731,18441,82436,62139,28144,30551,27659,92858,66256,41556,62852,78048,73457,15857,10156,66952,94364,34267,73469,30071,71169,83469,08362,42765,91464,97768,278
63636363626161626263616262626262626162626262626262626261616161615858575653535353
Indian promoters62626262616161616162606161616161616061616160606060606059595959595757565552525252
Foreign promoters11111––111111111111112222222222211111111
25,20426,61525,37925,78426,58725,80326,54925,69825,33224,54125,13425,68524,11723,39531,12241,76236,55939,22044,24351,21459,86658,60056,35356,56652,71848,67257,09657,04056,60852,88264,28167,67369,24271,65369,77769,02762,37465,86164,92468,225
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. A dash is a line the filing did not state.

Carborundum Universal promoters

Promoters are the founders, families and companies that control the company, as its filings name them. Every member of the promoter group holding shares in the filing for Sep 2026; the largest is AMBADI INVESTMENTS LIMITED, 29.42%. The filing names 148 more members with no shares.Promoter buying and selling

Holder
AMBADI INVESTMENTS LIMITEDIndian companies, trusts and others29.42%5,60,54,244
MURUGAPPA EDUCATIONAL AND MEDICAL FOUNDATIONIndian companies, trusts and others2.00%38,11,920
SOUTHERN ENERGY DEVELOPMENT CORPORATION LTDIndian companies, trusts and others0.76%14,49,240
M.M.MUTHIAH RESEARCH FOUNDATIONIndian companies, trusts and others0.58%11,04,160
R.MUTHATHAIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.54%10,31,790
M A M ARUNACHALAMIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.53%10,03,800
M.A.ALAGAPPANIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.41%7,86,000
A VENKATACHALAMIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.38%7,21,204
MEENAKSHI MURUGAPPANIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.25%4,79,900
ARUN ALAGAPPANIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.25%4,71,400
V NARAYANANIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.22%4,19,000
V ARUNACHALAMIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.21%3,96,840
No promoter shares are reported as pledged.

Largest public holders of Carborundum Universal, filing by filing

Per cent, on the same shares as the split above.Mutual funds holding Carborundum Universal

HolderDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
KOTAK FUNDS - INDIA MIDCAP FUNDForeign portfolio investors, category I––––––––––––––––1.27%1.27%1.27%1.25%1.23%1.24%1.28%1.28%1.28%1.28%1.40%1.62%1.93%2.08%2.08%2.08%2.08%2.08%2.11%2.00%2.00%2.05%2.05%2.05%
SHAMYAK INVESTMENT PRIVATE LIMITEDCompanies––2.12%2.12%2.12%2.12%2.12%2.12%2.12%2.11%2.11%2.11%2.11%2.11%2.11%2.11%2.11%2.11%2.11%2.11%2.11%2.11%2.11%2.03%2.03%1.58%1.32%1.05%1.05%1.05%1.05%1.05%1.05%1.05%1.05%1.05%1.05%1.05%––
MASSACHUSETTS INSTITUTE OF TECHNOLOGYForeign portfolio investors, category I–––––––––––––1.16%1.16%1.16%1.31%1.31%1.31%1.30%1.30%1.30%1.30%1.30%1.30%1.30%1.30%1.04%––––––––––––
ICICI PRUDENTIAL LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY LIMITEDInsurance companies–––––––1.53%1.74%2.21%2.72%2.47%2.61%2.51%2.70%3.89%2.83%2.33%2.22%2.10%1.96%1.55%1.40%1.26%1.10%–––––––––––––––
SMALLCAP WORLD FUND, INCInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor4.22%2.31%2.31%2.31%2.31%2.31%2.31%2.31%2.31%2.31%2.31%2.31%2.31%2.30%2.30%–––––––––––––––––––––––––
GENERAL INSURANCE CORPORATION OF INDIAInsurance companies1.59%1.59%1.59%1.59%1.59%1.59%1.59%1.59%1.59%1.59%1.59%1.43%1.11%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––
AADI FINANCIAL ADVISORS LLPOther non-institutions1.16%1.16%1.16%1.16%1.16%1.16%1.16%1.16%1.06%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
AMERICAN FUNDS INSURANCE SERIES GLOBAL SMALL CAPITALIZATION FUNDInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor2.27%1.29%1.29%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
AMRIT PETROLEUMS PVT LIMITEDOther non-institutions2.12%2.12%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
KOTAK MAHINDRA (INTERNATIONAL) LIMITEDInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor1.06%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
A filing names every holder above one per cent, in the company's own words: an insurer's holding can carry one of its funds' names. Mutual funds are left out here: each fund's holding is on the Mutual funds tab, from its own portfolio. A dash is a filing that did not name the holder, which includes holding under one per cent.