Torrent Power logo

Torrent Power shareholders and shareholding pattern

NSE: TORNTPOWERBSE: 532779PowerMid Cap

Torrent Power Limited · Face value ₹10 · Listed Nov 2006
Last close ₹1,179.70up ₹22.10 (1.91%)BSE ₹1,180.05

Share price at the NSE close on 27 Oct 2026. Previous close ₹1,157.60.

27 Oct: open ₹1,160.30, high ₹1,184.80, low ₹1,158.10

52-week range of traded prices to 27 Oct 2026
₹1,147.50Low, 26 Oct 2026₹1,824.10High, 27 Apr 2026
Market cap
₹59,446 Cr143rd largest listed
P/E
25.58
P/B
3.12
Dividend yield
1.70%
ROE
12.7%
ROCE
11.9%
Debt to equity
0.70
Volume, NSE
1,36,18356.5% delivered

Torrent Power's shareholding pattern for Sep 2026, filed on 21 Oct 2026, with every filing from Dec 2016: who owns its shares by group, its promoters by name and its public holders of 1% or more.

Who owns Torrent Power, filing by filing

Per cent of the company's shares.

Sep 2026 filing

  • Promoters51.09%
  • Foreign institutions8.36%
  • Indian institutions22.80%
  • Governments8.35%
  • Individuals and others9.40%

Shareholding pattern, per cent, from Sep 2022

  • Promoters
  • Foreign institutions
  • Indian institutions
  • Governments
  • Individuals and others
53.57%1.47%51.09%8.36%22.80%8.35%9.40%Sep 22Jun 23Mar 24Dec 24Sep 25Sep 26
Per centDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%51.09%51.09%51.09%51.09%51.09%51.09%51.09%51.09%
Indian promoters53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%Under 0.01%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%53.57%51.09%51.09%51.09%51.09%51.09%51.09%51.09%51.09%
Foreign promoters–––––––53.56%–––––––––––0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%––––––
46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%46.43%48.91%48.91%48.91%48.91%48.91%48.91%48.91%48.91%
Promoter shares pledgedShare of the promoters' own shares0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%48.54%48.54%48.54%48.54%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%0.00%
Shares in issue48,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78448,06,16,78450,39,03,54350,39,03,54350,39,03,54350,39,03,54350,39,03,54350,39,03,54350,39,03,54350,39,03,543
Shares locked in–––––––––––1,4101,410––––––000000000000000––––––
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. Pledged is the share of the promoters' own shares given to lenders as security. A dash is a line the filing did not state. “Under 0.01%” is a holding of shares too small to show at two decimals.

Number of Torrent Power shareholders

Shareholders on the company's register in each filing.

Shareholders, filing by filing

1,25,194Dec 161,18,491Mar 171,19,918Jun 171,29,014Sep 171,26,396Dec 171,23,399Mar 181,21,821Jun 181,20,921Sep 181,18,353Dec 181,17,467Mar 191,13,647Jun 191,11,747Sep 191,12,179Dec 191,11,862Mar 201,18,584Jun 201,18,476Sep 201,19,273Dec 201,12,348Mar 211,25,419Jun 211,24,631Sep 211,25,967Dec 211,34,002Mar 221,31,357Jun 221,26,409Sep 221,24,106Dec 221,25,793Mar 231,16,318Jun 231,19,993Sep 231,31,393Dec 231,40,153Mar 241,41,479Jun 241,53,443Sep 241,66,387Dec 241,65,189Mar 251,65,738Jun 251,75,073Sep 251,68,442Dec 251,60,566Mar 261,55,488Jun 261,60,478Sep 26
ShareholdersDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
All shareholders1,25,1941,18,4911,19,9181,29,0141,26,3961,23,3991,21,8211,20,9211,18,3531,17,4671,13,6471,11,7471,12,1791,11,8621,18,5841,18,4761,19,2731,12,3481,25,4191,24,6311,25,9671,34,0021,31,3571,26,4091,24,1061,25,7931,16,3181,19,9931,31,3931,40,1531,41,4791,53,4431,66,3871,65,1891,65,7381,75,0731,68,4421,60,5661,55,4881,60,478
4444444444444444444444444444444444444444
Indian promoters4444444344444444444444444444444444444444
Foreign promoters–––––––1–––––––––––000000000000000––––––
1,25,1901,18,4871,19,9141,29,0101,26,3921,23,3951,21,8171,20,9171,18,3491,17,4631,13,6431,11,7431,12,1751,11,8581,18,5801,18,4721,19,2691,12,3441,25,4151,24,6271,25,9631,33,9981,31,3531,26,4051,24,1021,25,7891,16,3141,19,9891,31,3891,40,1491,41,4751,53,4391,66,3831,65,1851,65,7341,75,0691,68,4381,60,5621,55,4841,60,474
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. A dash is a line the filing did not state.

Torrent Power promoters

Promoters are the founders, families and companies that control the company, as its filings name them. Every member of the promoter group holding shares in the filing for Sep 2026; the largest is Torrent Investments Limited, 51.09%. The filing names 58 more members with no shares.Promoter buying and selling

Holder
Torrent Investments LimitedIndian companies, trusts and others51.09%25,74,22,311
Jinal Sudhir MehtaIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.00%8,000
Samir Uttamlal MehtaIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.00%6,125
Sudhir Uttamlal MehtaIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.00%6,882
No promoter shares are reported as pledged.

Largest public holders of Torrent Power, filing by filing

Per cent, on the same shares as the split above.Mutual funds holding Torrent Power

HolderDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
Gujarat Urja Vikas Nigam LimitedState governments–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––7.28%6.95%6.95%6.95%6.95%6.95%6.95%6.95%6.95%
Life Insurance Corporation of IndiaInsurance companies7.11%6.22%5.91%5.91%5.91%5.92%5.92%5.92%5.47%3.11%3.11%2.16%––––––1.99%4.05%4.55%4.55%4.55%4.10%4.10%4.10%3.95%3.79%3.52%3.49%3.32%3.21%2.97%2.82%2.82%3.16%3.17%3.23%3.16%2.61%
Gujarat State Financial Services LtdCompanies–––––––––9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%2.47%2.36%2.36%2.36%2.36%2.36%2.36%2.36%2.36%
NPS Trust- A/C Sbi Pension Fund Scheme - State GovtProvident and pension funds–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––2.04%
The Governor of GujaratState governments1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%–1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.47%1.40%1.40%1.40%1.40%1.40%1.40%1.40%1.40%
SBI Life Insurance Co. LtdInsurance companies–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.02%
NPS Trust- A/C Sbi Pension Fund Scheme - Central GovtProvident and pension funds––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.31%1.65%1.57%–
HDFC Life Insurance Company LimitedInsurance companies–––––––––1.34%1.43%1.58%1.75%1.80%1.76%1.74%1.75%1.78%1.71%1.21%1.02%1.05%1.05%1.14%1.15%1.12%1.14%1.26%1.31%1.37%1.12%–––––––––
Gujarat State Investments LimitedOther non-institutions9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%9.75%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
HDFC Standard Life Insurance Company LimitedOther non-institutions––––––1.13%1.18%1.25%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
General Insurance Corporation of IndiaFinancial Institution Or Banks1.73%1.54%1.53%1.49%1.39%1.27%1.25%1.16%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
The New India Assurance Company LimitedFinancial Institution Or Banks1.59%1.59%1.63%1.50%1.14%1.06%1.05%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
A filing names every holder above one per cent, in the company's own words: an insurer's holding can carry one of its funds' names. Mutual funds are left out here: each fund's holding is on the Mutual funds tab, from its own portfolio. A dash is a filing that did not name the holder, which includes holding under one per cent.

Who moved in the Sep 2026 filing

Against the Jun 2026 filing. A filing names a public holder only at 1% or more, so a holder no longer named fell under 1% or sold out.

  • Indian institutions: NPS Trust- A/C Sbi Pension Fund Scheme - State Govt newly named at 2.04%; NPS Trust- A/C Sbi Pension Fund Scheme - Central Govt no longer named, from 1.57%; SBI Life Insurance Co. Ltd newly named at 1.02%; 1 more moved