Polaris Consulting & Services (Delisted) share price

BSE: 532254

Polaris Consulting & Services Limited · Formerly Polaris Financial Technology · Face value ₹5 · Listed Sep 1999

Last traded ₹474.60 on 24 Jul 2018

Delisted on 1 Aug 2018.

Last announcements

The company's own last announcements before its shares stopped trading, routine notices left out.

Share price history

Daily closes since Jan 2007, BSE closes Jan 2007 to Jul 2007, Jul 2007 to Feb 2008, Feb 2008 to May 2008 and May 2008 to Jul 2010, adjusted for splits and bonuses

Daily close, ₹ per share

Results for the quarter to Mar 2018

Standalone: the listed company alone, without its subsidiaries. ₹ crore.

Revenue
₹485 Cr+20.8% on a year ago · +3.8% on the quarter before
Net profit
₹73 Cr+427.6% on a year ago · +100.2% on the quarter before
Earnings per share
₹7.08+420.6% on a year ago · +99.4% on the quarter before
Net margin
15.0%

From revenue to net profit, ₹ crore

  1. Revenue485
  2. Depreciation−6.2
  3. Other income+24
  4. Profit before tax104
  5. Tax−31
  6. Net profit73

Polaris Consulting & Services results by quarter

Standalone: the listed company alone, without its subsidiaries. Latest quarter to Mar 2018. Results for the quarter to Jun 2018 were due by 14 Aug 2018, 45 days after it ends. Every company's dates are on the results calendar.

Revenue and net profit by quarter, ₹ crore

  • Revenue
  • Net profit
44734Jun 1547430Sep 1546424Dec 154412.1Mar 1643627Jun 1644828Sep 1636730Dec 1640114Mar 1739017Jun 1747655Sep 1746736Dec 1748573Mar 18

Operating and net margin by quarter, per cent

  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
15.0%0.5%7.6%6.3%5.1%0.5%6.2%6.3%8.2%3.4%4.3%11.5%7.8%15.0%Jun 15Dec 15Jun 16Dec 16Jun 17Dec 17Mar 18
₹ croreJun 2013Sep 2013Dec 2013Mar 2014Jun 2014Sep 2014Dec 2014Mar 2015Jun 2015Sep 2015Dec 2015Mar 2016Jun 2016Sep 2016Dec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018
Revenue from operations473507507519500417424429447474464441436448367401390476467485
431468466487––––––––––––––––
Employee costs376401404427––––––––––––––––
Other expenses55686360––––––––––––––––
Operating profit before depreciation42394132––––––––––––––––
Operating margin9.0%7.7%8.0%6.2%––––––––––––––––
Depreciation and amortisation12121212–7–––––––––55676
Other income1489−11018511444209510533424
Finance costs0000––––––––––––––––
Profit before one-off items and tax44343719276739465445544343434725278560104
One-off items–−26–3–−7––−3–−11−11––––––––
Profit before tax4473722276039465145433243434725278560104
1241004161314171519301615171110302431
Tax rate27.5%57.9%28.1%−1.4%14.5%26.5%34.3%30.1%33.2%33.7%44.4%93.3%37.4%34.6%35.8%44.5%37.6%35.4%39.8%30.1%
Net profit32327222344253234302422728301417553673
Net margin6.8%0.6%5.3%4.3%4.5%10.5%6.0%7.4%7.6%6.3%5.1%0.5%6.2%6.3%8.2%3.4%4.3%11.5%7.8%15.0%
Earnings per share₹3.21₹0.31₹2.67–₹2.29₹4.40₹2.54₹3.19₹3.38₹2.99₹2.38₹0.21₹2.65₹2.80₹2.98₹1.36₹1.66₹5.37₹3.55₹7.08
Diluted earnings per share₹3.21₹0.31₹2.67–₹2.26₹4.33₹2.47₹3.12₹3.33₹2.93₹2.34₹0.21₹2.63₹2.78₹2.96₹1.35₹1.65₹5.33₹3.53₹7.05
Earnings per share in rupees, restated for later splits and bonuses.

The quarters either side of a change of basis do not compare. From the quarter to Mar 2015, the company's revenue for the year to Mar 2015, ₹1,678 Cr, differs from its quarters added, ₹1,771 Cr. From the quarter to Mar 2017, the company's revenue for the year to Mar 2017, ₹1,511 Cr, differs from its quarters added, ₹1,652 Cr.

10 years at a glance

Standalone: the listed company alone, without its subsidiaries. ₹ crore, years to March.

Revenue, net profit and borrowings, ₹ crore

  • Revenue
  • Net profit
  • Borrowings
111Mar 09131Mar 10187Mar 11189Mar 121,854167Mar 132,00584Mar 141,678131Mar 151,82690Mar 161,51199Mar 171,817181Mar 18

Operating and net margin, per cent

  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
11.6%4.2%11.6%7.7%9.0%4.2%7.8%4.9%6.6%9.9%Mar 09Mar 11Mar 13Mar 15Mar 17Mar 18

The years either side of a change of basis do not compare. From the year to Mar 2015, the company's revenue for that year, ₹1,678 Cr, differs from its quarters added, ₹1,771 Cr. From the year to Mar 2017, the company's revenue for that year, ₹1,511 Cr, differs from its quarters added, ₹1,652 Cr.

Results for the year to Mar 2018

Standalone: the listed company alone, without its subsidiaries. ₹ crore.

From revenue to net profit

  1. Revenue1,817
  2. Depreciation−24
  3. Other income+28
  4. Profit before tax276
  5. Tax−96
  6. Net profit181

Profit and loss

Standalone, ₹ crore, years to March.

₹ croreMar 2009Mar 2010Mar 2011Mar 2012Mar 2013Mar 2014Mar 2015Mar 2016Mar 2017Mar 2018
Revenue from operations––––1,8542,0051,6781,8261,5111,817
––––1,6391,852––––
Employee costs––––1,4271,607––––
Other expenses––––212246––––
Operating profit before depreciation––––215154––––
Operating margin––––11.6%7.7%––––
Employee costs, % of revenue––––76.9%80.1%––––
Other expenses, % of revenue––––11.4%12.3%––––
Depreciation and amortisation312526394648––2224
Operating profit after depreciation––––169106––––
Other income11173128373038292028
Finance costs100121––––
Profit before one-off items and tax––––204134191192158276
One-off items−59−21–––−23−7−22––
Profit before tax126150216236204110184171158276
15192948372754815996
Net profit111131187189167841319099181
Net margin––––9.0%4.2%7.8%4.9%6.6%9.9%
Operating expenses, operating profit before depreciation and operating profit after depreciation are left blank for the years to Mar 2009, Mar 2010, Mar 2011 and Mar 2012: the statement does not state its revenue or total expenses, which operating profit is worked out from, so operating profit is not given. Operating expenses, operating profit before depreciation and operating profit after depreciation are left blank for the years to Mar 2015 and Mar 2016: the statement does not state its finance costs or depreciation, which operating profit is worked out from, so operating profit is not given. Operating expenses, operating profit before depreciation and operating profit after depreciation are left blank for the years to Mar 2017 and Mar 2018: the statement does not state its finance costs, which operating profit is worked out from, so operating profit is not given.

Per share

Standalone, ₹ per share, years to March.

₹ per shareMar 2009Mar 2010Mar 2011Mar 2012Mar 2013Mar 2014Mar 2015Mar 2016Mar 2017Mar 2018
Earnings per share₹11.27₹13.23₹18.87₹18.98₹16.79₹8.44₹13.10₹8.95₹9.78₹17.67
Diluted earnings per share₹11.27₹13.11₹18.74₹18.92₹16.76₹8.42₹12.81₹8.81₹9.71₹17.66
Market cap at the year end (₹ crore)4431,6261,8731,6321,1071,9211,6521,8961,840–

Ratios

Standalone, years to March.

RatioMar 2009Mar 2010Mar 2011Mar 2012Mar 2013Mar 2014Mar 2015Mar 2016Mar 2017Mar 2018
Revenue growth–––––8.2%–8.8%–20.3%
Operating profit growth–––––−28.6%––––
Net profit growth111.2%17.5%43.2%0.8%−11.4%−49.7%–−31.3%10.7%82.0%
Earnings per share growth111.0%17.4%42.6%0.6%−11.5%−49.7%–−31.7%9.3%80.7%
Interest cover––––88.8101.6––––
Revenue growth, net profit growth and earnings per share growth are left blank for the year to Mar 2015: between the two periods the company restated its earlier figures, so the two are on different bases and the change is not worked out. Revenue growth is left blank for the year to Mar 2017: between the two periods the company restated its earlier figures, so the two are on different bases and the change is not worked out.

Growth and returns over 3, 5 and 10 years

Standalone: the listed company alone, without its subsidiaries. Each window ends with the year to Mar 2018.

Measure5 years3 years
Profit growth, yearly rate–11.4%
Net margin, average6.7%7.1%

Accounting checks

Standalone, years to March. Published tests of whether reported profit is backed by cash and the balance sheet.

CheckMar 2009Mar 2010Mar 2011Mar 2012Mar 2013Mar 2014Mar 2015Mar 2016Mar 2017Mar 2018
Effective tax ratePublished threshold 17.16 per cent11.9112.9713.4820.2818.0123.9929.13–––
A threshold marked as ours has no published figure; it is the line we read the check against.

Where the return came from

Yearly rates to Mar 2018, per-share figures restated for splits and bonuses.

OverReturn a yearEarnings growthChange in P/EDividend yield
1 year+158.5%+80.7%+43.1%0.0%
3 years+41.4%+10.5%+28.0%0.0%
5 years+33.3%+1.0%+31.9%0.0%
Return is price growth plus the average dividend yield. Change in P/E is (1 + price growth) / (1 + earnings growth) - 1, so the parts compound rather than add.

Polaris Consulting & Services share price by year

Each calendar year to 2018.

YearClose at year endChangeHighest closeLowest close
2018474.60+20.9%474.95385.70
2017392.60+159.6%395.25152.00
2016151.25−28.1%215.25143.15
2015210.50+22.7%211.70135.20
₹ per share, adjusted for splits and bonuses since. Change is on the close at the end of the year before. The 2018 close is its last trade, on 24 Jul 2018.

Recent sessions

The 10 trading days to 24 Jul 2018, as traded on BSE.

DateOpenHighLowCloseAverage priceVolume
24 Jul 2018474.05475.05474.05474.60474.5426,586
23 Jul 2018473.80474.90473.60474.65474.2019,056
20 Jul 2018474.40474.70473.50474.10473.9517,973
19 Jul 2018473.95474.40473.60474.15473.8020,641
18 Jul 2018473.60474.50473.50473.50473.5822,734
17 Jul 2018473.65473.85472.20473.60473.423,517
16 Jul 2018472.00474.45472.00473.65473.5228,243
13 Jul 2018475.00475.00471.10474.10474.1614,347
12 Jul 2018472.00479.95472.00474.10474.761,24,251
11 Jul 2018470.00473.65469.50472.75472.1825,168
Prices in ₹ per share as traded, not adjusted.

Price adjustments

What the price chart is corrected for, so it reads as one share held throughout.

Ex-dateEventPrice factorWhat happened
20 Jan 2009Price move–Between two trading sessions the price moved by a fifth or more. The company's board met on results that day or since the trading day before. Not adjusted for.
23 Jan 2008Price move–Between two trading sessions the price moved by a fifth or more. The Nifty 500 moved 5% or more the same way over the same sessions. Not adjusted for.
22 Jan 2008Price move–Between two trading sessions the price moved by a fifth or more. The Nifty 500 moved 5% or more the same way over the same sessions. Not adjusted for.
21 Jan 2008Price move–Between two trading sessions the price moved by a fifth or more. The Nifty 500 moved 5% or more the same way over the same sessions. Not adjusted for.
Each event is noted and not adjusted for.

Company details

BSE code
532254
ISIN
INE763A01023
Former symbols
POLARIS
CIN
L65993TN1993PLC024142
Corporate identity number, the registrar of companies' code for it
Incorporated
1993
Registered office
No. 34, IT Highway, Navallur, Chennai 603103, Tamil Nadu
Share registrar
KFin Technologies Ltd
Keeps the register of shareholders and handles transfers and dividend payments