McDowell Holdings share price

BSE: 532852Finance

McDowell Holdings Limited · Face value ₹10 · Listed May 2007

Trading suspended since 6 Sep 2022

Last traded ₹68.75 on 5 Sep 2022

Latest announcements

Routine notices left out.

Share price history

Daily closes since May 2007, BSE closes May 2007 to Jul 2007, Jul 2007 to Feb 2008, Feb 2008 to May 2008 and May 2008 to Jul 2010, adjusted for splits and bonuses

Daily close, ₹ per share

Results for the quarter to Sep 2021

Standalone: the listed company alone, without its subsidiaries. ₹ crore.

Revenue
₹0.23 Cr−82.5% on a year ago
Operating profit
−₹0.53 Cr
Net profit
−₹0.98 Cr
Earnings per share
−₹0.70
Operating margin
−234.7%
Net margin
−430.2%

From revenue to net profit, ₹ crore

  1. Revenue0.2
  2. Employee costs−0.5
  3. Other expenses−0.3
  4. Operating profit−0.5
  5. Depreciation0.0
  6. Other income+0.1
  7. Finance costs−0.5
  8. Profit before tax−1.0
  9. Tax0.0
  10. Net profit−1.0

McDowell Holdings results by quarter

Standalone: the listed company alone, without its subsidiaries. Latest quarter to Sep 2021. Results for the quarter to Dec 2021 were due by 14 Feb 2022, 45 days after it ends. Every company's dates are on the results calendar.

Revenue and net profit by quarter, ₹ crore

  • Revenue
  • Net profit
  • Loss
1.53.4Dec 1800.2Mar 19Jun 19Sep 19Dec 191.50.0Mar 200.6−0.8Jun 201.30.4Sep 200.1−0.8Dec 20Mar 210−0.1Jun 210.2−1.0Sep 21
Peak revenue ₹1.50 Cr, quarter to Mar 2020; lowest ₹0.00 Cr, quarter to Mar 2019A loss in 5 of the 8 quarters with results on record

Operating and net margin by quarter, per cent

  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
227.4%−1,224.5%−1.4%−89.7%51.6%−811.1%−234.7%227.4%−1.2%−130.2%31.3%−1,224.5%−430.2%Dec 18Jun 19Dec 19Jun 20Dec 20Jun 21Sep 21
₹ croreDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Q1Sep 2018Dec 2018Q3Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Q1Sep 2020Dec 2020Q3Filed 9 MarMar 2021Jun 2021Q1Sep 2021
Revenue from operations0000100010–––2110–00
0100––––––––––2111–01
Materials and goods bought––––––0000–––0000–00
Employee costs0–0––––––––––1100–00
Other expenses0–0––––––––––0000–00
Operating profit before depreciation0−100––––––––––0−11−1–0−1
Operating margin−1,932.9%−1,70,070.0%−6,768.6%––––––––––−1.4%−89.7%51.6%−811.1%––−234.7%
Depreciation and amortisation000000–––––––0000–00
Other income0000000000–––0000–00
Finance costs111–––0000–––0000–01
Profit before one-off items and tax−1−11−1000000−6–––0−10−1–0−1
One-off items–––––––––––––0000–00
Profit before tax−1−11−10000030–––0−10−1–0−1
–0–––00000–––0000–00
Tax rate––––––––0.0%18.5%–––––0.0%––––
Net profit−1−11−10000030–––0−10−1–0−1
Other comprehensive income–––––––––––––−22678−54149–13277
Total comprehensive income–––––––––––––−22677−54148–13276
Net margin−7,457.1%−1,85,433.3%−19,585.7%−9,300.0%47.5%−1,614.3%––227.4%––––−1.2%−130.2%31.3%−1,224.5%––−430.2%
Earnings per share–−₹7.93−₹0.98−₹0.27₹0.34−₹0.24−₹0.22−₹0.29₹0.02––––−₹0.04–₹0.29−₹0.55–−₹0.01−₹0.70
Earnings per share in rupees, restated for later splits and bonuses. No results on record for the quarters to Jun 2019, Sep 2019 and Mar 2021. The quarter to Dec 2019 is not shown: its results were filed at the wrong scale, a power of ten off the company's own year-to-date figures.

The quarter to Jun 2020 was restated in the company's filing of 5 Dec 2020. The table shows the restated figures.

Segment results by quarter

Standalone, ₹ crore, quarters to Sep 2021.

  • Others

    Revenue, ₹ crore
    Profit, ₹ crore
  • NBFC

    Revenue, ₹ crore
    Profit, ₹ crore
₹ croreDec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021
Revenue of all businesses–––––2110––0
Company revenue, as in its results10–––2110–00
Revenue–––––2100–00
Revenue growth––––––––––−100.0%−45.2%
Profit–––––0−1−1−1–0−1
Margin–––––14.2%−115.3%−522.0%–––−798.4%
Assets–––––1000–00
Liabilities–––––−1000–00
Capital employed–––––1000–00
Revenue–––––0010–00
Profit is before tax and finance costs, the way companies report their segments.

10 years at a glance

Standalone: the listed company alone, without its subsidiaries. ₹ crore, years to March.

Revenue, net profit and borrowings, ₹ crore

  • Revenue
  • Net profit
  • Borrowings
  • Loss
2.3−1.2Mar 113.31.5Mar 12113.6Mar 1313−21Mar 14145.5Mar 1511−21Mar 160.9−21Mar 171.0−1.6Mar 181.53.021Mar 192.8−6.814Mar 20
Peak revenue ₹14 Cr, year to Mar 2015; lowest ₹0.93 Cr, year to Mar 2017A loss in the year to Mar 2020, −₹6.84 Cr

Operating and net margin, per cent

  • Operating margin
  • Net margin
201.4%−2,263.4%−1,794.8%−587.2%−73.5%−571.1%−50.0%45.9%32.2%−162.0%38.7%−200.7%−2,263.4%−159.6%201.4%−247.4%Mar 11Mar 13Mar 15Mar 17Mar 19Mar 20

Results for the year to Mar 2020

Standalone: the listed company alone, without its subsidiaries. ₹ crore.

From revenue to net profit

  1. Revenue2.8
  2. Employee costs−5.6
  3. Other expenses−13
  4. Operating profit−16
  5. Depreciation0.0
  6. Other income+9.7
  7. One-off items+5.3
  8. Finance costs−6.1
  9. Profit before tax−6.9
  10. Tax0.0
  11. Net profit−6.8

What the company owns

  • Plant, investments and other assets₹586 Cr
  • Cash and bank₹1 Cr

What pays for it: net worth and liabilities

  • Net worth₹570 Cr
  • Borrowings₹14 Cr
  • Other liabilities₹2 Cr

McDowell Holdings business segments, year to Mar 2020

A reportable segment is a line of business the company must report on its own. Standalone, ₹ crore, as the company reports them. A segment at a loss has no share of profit.

Revenue by segment

₹2.76 CrTotal
  • Others₹1.50 Cr54.3% of total
  • NBFC₹1.26 Cr45.7% of total

Profit by segment

  • Others₹0.21 Cr100.0% of total

Segment results by year

Standalone, ₹ crore, years to March.

  • Others

    Revenue, ₹ crore
    Profit, ₹ crore
  • NBFC

    Revenue, ₹ crore
    Profit, ₹ crore
₹ croreMar 2019Mar 2020
Revenue of all businesses–3
Company revenue, as in its results13
Revenue–2
Profit–0
Margin–14.2%
Return on capital–16.7%
Assets–1
Liabilities–−1
Capital employed–1
Revenue–1
Profit is before tax and finance costs, the way companies report their segments.

Profit and loss

Standalone, ₹ crore, years to March.

₹ croreMar 2011Mar 2012Mar 2013Mar 2014Mar 2015Mar 2016Mar 2017Mar 2018Mar 2019Mar 2020
Revenue from operations23111314111113
–––––20262–19
Materials and goods bought––––––––00
Employee costs–––––––1–6
Other expenses–––––––1–13
Operating profit before depreciation–––––−191−5−1–−16
Operating margin–––––−1,794.8%−587.2%−73.5%–−571.1%
Materials, % of revenue–––––––––0.0%
Employee costs, % of revenue–––––––60.3%–203.5%
Other expenses, % of revenue–––––––113.3%–467.5%
Depreciation and amortisation–––––000–0
Operating profit after depreciation–––––−191−5−1–−16
Other income––––––00010
Finance costs3161214164106
Profit before one-off items and tax−124−21−12−207−9−2−7−12
One-off items––––17190−12––5
Profit before tax−124−215−18−21−23−7
001––40000
Net profit−124−215−21−21−23−7
Other comprehensive income–––––––––−310
Total comprehensive income–––––––––−317
Net margin−50.0%45.9%32.2%−162.0%38.7%−200.7%−2,263.4%−159.6%201.4%−247.4%
Materials, employee costs and other expenses are shown for the years they add up to operating expenses; for the years to Mar 2016, Mar 2017 and Mar 2018 they do not, so they are left blank. Operating expenses, operating profit before depreciation and operating profit after depreciation are left blank for the years to Mar 2011, Mar 2012, Mar 2013, Mar 2014, Mar 2015 and Mar 2019: the statement does not state its depreciation, which operating profit is worked out from, so operating profit is not given.
Earlier years, Mar 2008 to Mar 2010
₹ croreMar 2008Mar 2009Mar 2010
Revenue from operations1.791.896.62
Operating expenses–0.38–
Operating profit before depreciation–1.51–
Operating margin–80.1%–
Depreciation and amortisation–0.04–
Operating profit after depreciation–1.48–
Other income0.04––
Finance costs–2.493.14
Profit before tax0.91−1.023.06
Tax–0.080.43
Net profit0.91−1.102.63
Net margin50.6%−58.0%39.7%
Standalone, ₹ crore, years to March.

Balance sheet

Standalone, ₹ crore, at 31 March. The last column is the half year to Sep 2021, after the latest full year: the balance sheet at its end.

₹ croreMar 2019Mar 2020Sep 2021Half year
12570991
Share capital141414
Reserves−2556977
211415
26––
Liabilities due after a year0––
Total assets385861,008
29––
9––
Net debt171315
Borrowings are counted again inside the liabilities due within a year and after a year. Plant in use and plant being built are given for full years only. No balance sheet is on record for the years to Mar 2011, Mar 2012, Mar 2013, Mar 2014, Mar 2015, Mar 2016, Mar 2017 and Mar 2018, so its lines and the ratios worked from it are blank there.

Cash flow

Standalone, ₹ crore, years to March. The last column is the half year to Sep 2021, after the latest full year: the cash flow over its six months.

₹ croreSep 2021Half year
Cash from operations0.18
Capital spending0.00
Free cash flow0.18
Cash from investing0.23
Cash from financing−0.52
Dividends paid0.00
Shares bought back0.00
Shares issued0.00
Net change in cash−0.11
Capital spending is part of cash from investing, and dividends paid, shares bought back and shares issued are part of cash from financing. Each is shown as an amount on a line of its own, and the section's other items are in its total only.

Per share

Standalone, ₹ per share, years to March.

₹ per shareMar 2012Mar 2013Mar 2014Mar 2015Mar 2016Mar 2017Mar 2018Mar 2019Mar 2020
Earnings per share₹1.15₹2.60–––−₹15.11−₹1.15₹2.15−₹8.71
Diluted earnings per share₹1.10₹2.60–––−₹6.40−₹1.15₹2.15−₹8.71
Book value per share–––––––₹8.75–
Market cap at the year end (₹ crore)59.048.244.1––––32.3–

Ratios

Standalone, years to March.

RatioMar 2011Mar 2012Mar 2013Mar 2014Mar 2015Mar 2016Mar 2017Mar 2018Mar 2019Mar 2020
Revenue growth−65.2%43.7%240.2%14.3%9.6%−24.3%−91.2%7.8%48.3%85.2%
Net profit growth––138.9%–––––––
Earnings per share growth––126.1%–––––––
––––––––24.6%−2.3%
–––––––––−26.9 pts
From the net margin–––––––––−54.7 pts
From asset turnover–––––––––23.4 pts
From borrowing–––––––––4.4 pts
Return on capital employed–––––––––−2.7%
Debt to equity––––––––1.690.02
Receivable days––––––––00
Working capital days––––––––−91–
Asset turnover––––––––0.040.01
Assets per rupee of net worth––––––––3.101.07
Sales per rupee of plant––––––––339.30675.94
Plant being built, % of plant in use–––––––––0.0%
Interest cover is left blank for the years to Mar 2016, Mar 2017, Mar 2018 and Mar 2020: operating profit after depreciation is a loss, and a loss covers no interest bill. No balance sheet is on record for the years to Mar 2011, Mar 2012, Mar 2013, Mar 2014, Mar 2015, Mar 2016, Mar 2017 and Mar 2018, so its lines and the ratios worked from it are blank there.

Growth and returns over 3, 5 and 10 years

Standalone: the listed company alone, without its subsidiaries. Each window ends with the year to Mar 2020.

Return on assets, latest year
−2.2%
Measure10 years5 years3 years
Revenue growth, yearly rate−8.4%−27.8%43.6%
Return on equity, average––11.1%
Operating margin, average–−756.7%−322.3%
Net margin, average−276.5%−533.9%−68.5%
Asset turnover, average––0.02
Debt to equity, average––0.86

Accounting checks

Standalone, years to March. Published tests of whether reported profit is backed by cash and the balance sheet.

CheckMar 2012Mar 2013Mar 2014Mar 2015Mar 2016Mar 2017Mar 2018Mar 2019Mar 2020
Effective tax ratePublished threshold 17.16 per cent7.5613.00–––––1.64–
A threshold marked as ours has no published figure; it is the line we read the check against.

Where the return came from

Yearly rates to Mar 2020, per-share figures restated for splits and bonuses.

OverReturn a yearEarnings growthChange in P/EDividend yield
1 year−47.2%––0.0%
3 years−32.6%––0.0%
5 years−15.5%––0.0%
Return is price growth plus the average dividend yield. Change in P/E is (1 + price growth) / (1 + earnings growth) - 1, so the parts compound rather than add. Earnings growth and the change in P/E are left empty where earnings per share at either end of the window was a loss or is not on record.

Who owns McDowell Holdings, filing by filing

Per cent of the company's shares. Every filing on record, from Sep 2021; the latest is the filing for Sep 2025.

Sep 2025 filing

  • Promoters2.27%
  • Foreign institutions19.33%
  • Indian institutions0.03%
  • Individuals and others78.37%

Shareholding pattern, per cent, from Mar 2022

  • Promoters
  • Foreign institutions
  • Indian institutions
  • Individuals and others
78.37%0.03%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%20.23%20.23%20.23%20.23%20.23%20.23%20.23%20.23%20.23%20.23%19.33%19.33%19.33%19.33%19.33%0.20%0.20%0.20%0.20%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%77.30%77.30%77.31%77.31%77.48%77.48%77.48%77.48%77.48%77.48%78.37%78.37%78.37%78.37%78.37%Mar 22Sep 22Mar 23Sep 23Mar 24Sep 24Mar 25Sep 25
Per centSep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025
2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%
Indian promoters2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%2.27%
97.73%97.73%97.73%97.73%97.73%97.73%97.73%97.73%97.73%97.73%97.73%97.73%97.73%97.73%97.73%97.73%97.73%
Promoter shares pledgedShare of the promoters' own shares100.00%100.00%100.00%100.00%100.00%100.00%100.00%100.00%100.00%100.00%100.00%100.00%100.00%100.00%100.00%100.00%100.00%
Shares in issue1,39,92,2581,39,92,2581,39,92,2581,39,92,2581,39,92,2581,39,92,2581,39,92,2581,39,92,2581,39,92,2581,39,92,2581,39,92,2581,39,92,2581,39,92,2581,39,92,2581,39,92,2581,39,92,2581,39,92,258
Filings before Mar 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. Pledged is the share of the promoters' own shares given to lenders as security. A dash is a line the filing did not state. “Under 0.01%” is a holding of shares too small to show at two decimals.

Number of McDowell Holdings shareholders

Shareholders on the company's register in each filing.

Shareholders, filing by filing

45,864Sep 2147,098Dec 2146,295Mar 2245,783Jun 2245,525Sep 2245,526Dec 2245,527Mar 2345,520Jun 2345,519Sep 2345,511Dec 2345,509Mar 2445,530Jun 2445,542Sep 2445,545Dec 2445,544Mar 2545,548Jun 2544,950Sep 25
ShareholdersSep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025
All shareholders45,86447,09846,29545,78345,52545,52645,52745,52045,51945,51145,50945,53045,54245,54545,54445,54844,950
22222222222222222
Indian promoters22222222222222222
45,86247,09646,29345,78145,52345,52445,52545,51845,51745,50945,50745,52845,54045,54345,54245,54644,948
Filings before Mar 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. A dash is a line the filing did not state.

McDowell Holdings promoters

Promoters are the founders, families and companies that control the company, as its filings name them. Every member of the promoter group holding shares in the filing for Sep 2025; the largest is UNITED BREWERIES HOLDINGS LIMITED, 2.27%. The filing names 2 more members with no shares.

Holder
UNITED BREWERIES HOLDINGS LIMITEDIndian companies, trusts and others2.27%3,17,030100.00%
VIJAY MALLYAIndividuals and Hindu undivided families0.00%20.00%
Pledged is the share of the holder's own shares pledged to a lender.

Largest public holders of McDowell Holdings, filing by filing

Per cent, on the same shares as the split above.

HolderSep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025
ROUTE ONE OFFSHORE MASTER FUND, L.P.Foreign portfolio investors, category I4.66%4.66%5.87%5.87%5.87%5.87%5.87%–5.87%5.87%5.87%5.87%5.87%5.87%5.87%5.87%5.87%
PADRONE MARKETING PRIVATE LIMITEDCompanies5.04%4.97%––––––4.97%4.97%4.97%4.97%4.97%4.97%4.97%4.97%4.97%
ACACIA PARTNERS, LPForeign portfolio investors, category I5.55%5.55%5.55%5.55%5.55%5.55%5.55%–5.55%5.55%5.55%5.55%4.65%4.65%4.65%4.65%4.65%
ROUTE ONE FUND I, L.P.Foreign portfolio investors, category I4.75%4.75%3.56%3.56%3.56%3.56%3.56%–3.56%3.56%3.56%3.56%3.56%3.56%3.56%3.56%3.56%
ACACIA INSTITUTIONAL PARTNERS, LPForeign portfolio investors, category I3.49%3.49%3.49%3.49%3.49%3.49%3.49%–3.49%3.49%3.49%3.49%3.49%3.49%3.49%3.49%3.49%
EQUITY INTELLIGENCE INDIA PRIVATE LIMITEDCompanies2.14%2.47%––––3.00%–3.00%3.00%3.00%3.00%3.00%3.00%3.00%3.00%3.00%
LITTY THOMASResident individuals, over ₹2 lakh at face value–1.00%1.64%1.79%1.79%1.79%1.79%–1.79%1.79%1.79%1.79%1.79%1.79%1.79%1.79%1.79%
NIREJ V PAULResident individuals, over ₹2 lakh at face value–1.08%1.08%1.08%1.08%1.08%1.08%–1.08%1.08%1.08%1.08%1.08%1.08%1.08%1.08%1.08%
KALPANA SUNIL KHANDELWALResident individuals, over ₹2 lakh at face value––––––––––––––––1.04%
KALPANA S KHANDELWALResident individuals, over ₹2 lakh at face value1.05%1.04%1.04%1.04%1.04%1.04%1.04%–1.04%1.04%1.04%1.04%1.04%1.04%1.04%1.04%–
RAJIV ARORAResident individuals, over ₹2 lakh at face value1.08%1.08%1.08%1.11%1.11%1.11%1.11%–1.11%––––––––
SAMEER BAISIWALAResident individuals, over ₹2 lakh at face value5.30%2.83%2.83%––––––––––––––
SURESH POONATIResident individuals, over ₹2 lakh at face value2.06%1.07%1.07%––––––––––––––
A filing names every holder above one per cent, in the company's own words: an insurer's holding can carry one of its funds' names. A dash is a filing that did not name the holder, which includes holding under one per cent.

Who moved in the Sep 2025 filing

Against the Jun 2025 filing. A filing names a public holder only at 1% or more, so a holder no longer named fell under 1% or sold out.

  • Individuals and others: KALPANA S KHANDELWAL no longer named, from 1.04%; KALPANA SUNIL KHANDELWAL newly named at 1.04%

McDowell Holdings share price by year

Each calendar year to 2022.

YearClose at year endChangeHighest closeLowest close
202268.75−45.8%123.9053.20
2021126.75+285.3%193.1030.20
202032.90+89.6%40.6510.95
201917.35−39.2%28.8015.95
201828.55−38.8%53.9521.10
201746.65+6.1%51.4036.20
201643.95+45.3%56.2522.45
201530.250.0%43.2522.45
₹ per share, adjusted for splits and bonuses since. Change is on the close at the end of the year before. The 2022 close is its last trade, on 5 Sep 2022.

Recent sessions

The 10 trading days to 5 Sep 2022, as traded on BSE.

DateOpenHighLowCloseAverage priceVolume
5 Sep 202272.7074.3067.3068.7568.3370,559
29 Aug 202271.0074.0070.0070.8071.2834,833
22 Aug 202280.7080.7073.1073.6577.4343,805
16 Aug 202276.9076.9076.9076.9076.909,786
8 Aug 202273.2573.2567.5073.2573.2326,416
1 Aug 202269.8069.8069.8069.8069.805,088
25 Jul 202266.5066.5066.5066.5066.501,02,541
18 Jul 202263.3563.3563.3563.3563.353,059
11 Jul 202260.3060.3560.3060.3560.354,663
4 Jul 202257.4557.5057.0057.5057.494,810
Prices in ₹ per share as traded, not adjusted.

Company details

BSE code
532852
ISIN
INE836H01014
Industry
Finance
Former symbols
MCDHOLDING
CIN
L05190KA2004PLC033485
Corporate identity number, the registrar of companies' code for it
Incorporated
2004
Registered office
UB Tower, 12 Floor, UB city, 24 Vittal Mallya Road, Bengaluru 560001, Karnataka
Share registrar
Integrated Enterprises (India) Ltd
Keeps the register of shareholders and handles transfers and dividend payments