Bharti Airtel logo

Bharti Airtel shareholders and shareholding pattern

NSE: BHARTIARTLBSE: 532454Telecom - ServicesLarge Cap

Bharti Airtel Limited · Formerly Bharti Tele-Ventures · Face value ₹5 · Listed Feb 2002
Last close ₹1,948.10down ₹30.70 (1.55%)BSE ₹1,950.00

Share price at the NSE close on 28 Oct 2026. Previous close ₹1,978.80.

28 Oct: open ₹1,970.10, high ₹1,970.80, low ₹1,926.60

52-week range of traded prices to 28 Oct 2026
₹1,726.30Low, 1 Oct 2026₹2,174.50High, 21 Nov 2025
Market cap
₹12,15,839 Cr3rd largest listed
P/E
42.05
P/E without one-offs
37.20
P/B
8.16
Dividend yield
1.23%
ROE
22.0%
ROE without one-offs
24.9%
ROCE
22.2%
Debt to equity
0.62
Volume, NSE
1,45,02,41575.8% delivered

Bharti Airtel's shareholding pattern for Sep 2026, filed on 19 Oct 2026, with every filing from Dec 2016: who owns its shares by group, its promoters by name and its public holders of 1% or more.

Who owns Bharti Airtel, filing by filing

Per cent of the company's shares.

Sep 2026 filing

  • Promoters50.07%
  • Foreign institutions25.45%
  • Indian institutions21.74%
  • GovernmentsNone
  • Individuals and others2.72%
  • Employee trusts0.03%

Shareholding pattern, per cent, from Sep 2022

  • Promoters
  • Foreign institutions
  • Indian institutions
  • Governments
  • Individuals and others
  • Employee trusts
55.13%0.03%50.07%25.45%21.74%2.72%0.03%Sep 22Jun 23Mar 24Dec 24Sep 25Sep 26
Per centDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
67.14%67.14%67.14%67.14%67.14%67.14%67.14%67.14%67.14%67.14%62.71%62.70%62.70%58.98%56.23%56.23%56.23%55.86%55.86%55.86%55.93%55.93%55.93%55.13%55.12%55.02%54.97%54.75%54.57%53.49%53.17%53.14%53.11%52.42%51.25%50.27%48.87%48.87%50.07%50.07%
Indian promoters45.48%45.48%45.48%45.48%50.10%50.10%50.10%50.10%50.10%50.10%41.24%41.24%41.24%38.79%36.04%36.04%36.04%35.80%35.80%35.80%35.85%35.85%35.85%38.62%38.61%38.54%38.50%38.35%39.57%39.37%39.14%39.13%40.31%40.47%40.47%40.47%40.47%40.47%39.51%39.51%
Foreign promoters21.66%21.66%21.66%21.66%17.04%17.04%17.04%17.04%17.04%17.04%21.46%21.46%21.46%20.19%20.19%20.19%20.19%20.05%20.05%20.05%20.08%20.08%20.08%16.52%16.51%16.48%16.47%16.40%15.00%14.11%14.03%14.01%12.81%11.95%10.79%9.80%8.40%8.40%10.56%10.56%
32.83%32.83%32.83%32.83%32.82%32.82%32.82%32.82%32.82%32.86%37.26%37.27%37.26%40.98%43.73%43.74%43.71%44.08%44.09%44.10%44.02%44.02%44.02%44.82%44.82%44.93%44.99%45.21%45.38%46.46%46.77%46.80%46.81%47.51%48.68%49.68%51.08%51.09%49.89%49.90%
Employee trusts0.03%0.03%0.03%0.03%0.04%0.04%0.04%0.04%0.04%Under 0.01%0.03%0.03%0.05%0.04%0.04%0.03%0.06%0.06%0.06%0.05%0.05%0.05%0.05%0.04%0.05%0.05%0.05%0.04%0.06%0.05%0.06%0.07%0.07%0.07%0.07%0.05%0.05%0.04%0.04%0.03%
Shares in issue3,99,74,00,1023,99,74,00,1023,99,74,00,1023,99,74,00,1023,99,74,00,1023,99,74,00,1023,99,74,00,1073,99,74,00,1073,99,74,00,1073,99,74,00,1075,13,09,91,1825,13,19,61,8505,13,19,61,8505,45,55,57,3555,45,55,57,3555,45,55,57,3555,45,55,57,3555,49,20,27,2685,49,20,27,2685,49,20,27,2685,88,43,14,9305,88,43,14,9305,88,43,14,9305,95,55,19,3125,95,67,08,2295,96,74,22,3125,97,35,48,1385,99,76,32,4016,01,72,20,4846,04,73,74,7396,08,31,60,8116,08,54,42,1486,08,81,20,6836,09,43,92,9816,09,43,92,9816,09,43,92,9816,09,43,92,9816,09,43,92,9816,24,11,54,3166,24,11,54,316
Shares locked in–––––––––––––––0–3,64,69,9133,64,69,9133,64,69,9133,64,69,913–007,11,76,839000000000––––20,27,29,12720,27,29,127
Promoters' shares locked in–––––––––––––––0–––00–000000000000––––20,27,29,12720,27,29,127
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. A dash is a line the filing did not state. “Under 0.01%” is a holding of shares too small to show at two decimals.

Number of Bharti Airtel shareholders

Shareholders on the company's register in each filing.

Shareholders, filing by filing

2,22,061Dec 162,12,238Mar 171,93,354Jun 171,78,942Sep 171,78,398Dec 171,93,663Mar 181,93,850Jun 181,86,844Sep 181,89,470Dec 181,86,238Mar 191,90,650Jun 192,14,762Sep 192,14,779Dec 192,30,528Mar 203,45,578Jun 205,56,321Sep 205,91,634Dec 207,13,866Mar 217,64,552Jun 216,81,975Sep 217,50,241Dec 217,67,578Mar 227,86,169Jun 227,79,996Sep 227,54,961Dec 227,58,715Mar 237,09,952Jun 236,85,529Sep 236,77,690Dec 236,94,297Mar 247,62,266Jun 247,84,930Sep 248,36,095Dec 248,33,428Mar 258,28,719Jun 258,48,472Sep 258,52,831Dec 259,01,086Mar 269,24,369Jun 269,39,404Sep 26
ShareholdersDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
All shareholders2,22,0612,12,2381,93,3541,78,9421,78,3981,93,6631,93,8501,86,8441,89,4701,86,2381,90,6502,14,7622,14,7792,30,5283,45,5785,56,3215,91,6347,13,8667,64,5526,81,9757,50,2417,67,5787,86,1697,79,9967,54,9617,58,7157,09,9526,85,5296,77,6906,94,2977,62,2667,84,9308,36,0958,33,4288,28,7198,48,4728,52,8319,01,0869,24,3699,39,404
4444444444444444444444444444444333333333
Indian promoters1111111111111111111111111111111111111111
Foreign promoters3333333333333333333333333333333222222222
2,22,0552,12,2321,93,3481,78,9361,78,3921,93,6581,93,8451,86,8391,89,4651,86,2331,90,6442,14,7562,14,7732,30,5223,45,5735,56,3165,91,6297,13,8617,64,5476,81,9707,50,2367,67,5737,86,1647,79,9917,54,9567,58,7107,09,9476,85,5246,77,6856,94,2927,62,2617,84,9268,36,0918,33,4248,28,7158,48,4688,52,8279,01,0829,24,3659,39,400
Employee trusts2222211111222211111111111111111111111111
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. A dash is a line the filing did not state.

Bharti Airtel promoters

Promoters are the founders, families and companies that control the company, as its filings name them. Every member of the promoter group holding shares in the filing for Sep 2026; the largest is BHARTI TELECOM LIMITED, 39.51%. The filing names 2 more members with no shares.Promoter buying and selling

Holder
BHARTI TELECOM LIMITEDIndian companies, trusts and others39.51%2,46,61,33,5270.00%
PASTEL LIMITEDForeign companies and others7.31%45,62,28,2120.00%
INDIAN CONTINENT INVESTMENT LIMITEDForeign companies and others3.25%20,27,29,127100.00%
No promoter shares are reported as pledged. Locked in is the share of the holder's own shares that cannot be sold yet, as after a listing or an allotment.

Largest public holders of Bharti Airtel, filing by filing

Per cent, on the same shares as the split above.Mutual funds holding Bharti Airtel

HolderDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
LICI INDEX PLUS FLEXI SMART GROWTH FUNDInsurance companies–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––4.46%
NPS TRUST A/C - SBI PF NPS JEEVAN SWARNA RETIREMENProvident and pension funds–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.77%1.85%1.93%
GOOGLE INTERNATIONAL LLCForeign portfolio investors, category II–––––––––––––––––––––––1.20%1.19%1.19%1.19%1.19%1.18%1.18%1.17%1.17%1.17%1.17%1.17%1.17%1.17%1.17%1.14%1.14%
GOVERNMENT OF SINGAPORE - EForeign portfolio investors, category I–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.25%1.03%1.04%
LICI NEW PENSION PLUS SECURED FUNDInsurance companies––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––4.14%–
LICI MONEY PLUS GROWTH FUNDInsurance companies–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––3.99%––
GOVERNMENT PENSION FUND GLOBALForeign portfolio investors, category I––––––––––––––––––––––1.01%1.11%1.02%1.01%1.01%1.00%––1.04%1.08%1.06%1.03%1.05%1.08%1.06%1.00%––
LICI MARKET PLUS 1 BALANCED FUNDInsurance companies––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––3.81%–––
NPS TRUST- A/C ICICI PRUDENTIAL PENSION FUND SCHEMProvident and pension funds–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.40%1.58%–––
GOVERNMENT OF SINGAPOREForeign portfolio investors, category I––––––––––3.77%3.77%–––1.52%1.34%1.33%1.23%1.41%1.39%1.47%1.52%1.18%1.23%1.04%1.00%––1.42%1.25%1.28%1.19%1.31%1.37%1.26%1.22%–––
LIFE INSURANCE CORPORATION OF INDIA - P & GS FUNDInsurance companies–––––––––––––––––––––3.80%–––––––4.28%–––––3.85%––––
LICI NEW PENSION PLUS BALANCED FUNDInsurance companies––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––4.04%–––––
NPS TRUST AC UTI PENSION FUND LIMITED SCHEME E TIEProvident and pension funds––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.24%–––––
LICI CHILD FORTUNE PLUS GROWTH FUNDInsurance companies–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––4.26%––––––
NPS TRUST- A/C HDFC PENSION FUND MANAGEMENT LIMITEDProvident and pension funds–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.13%––––––
LIFE INSURANCE CORPORATION OF INDIAInsurance companies–––––3.76%3.76%––––3.09%–––3.02%––––––––––4.44%–––––4.24%–––––––
EUROPACIFIC GROWTH FUNDForeign portfolio investors, category I––––––––––––––––1.01%1.00%–1.97%2.01%2.09%1.80%2.07%2.22%2.13%1.89%2.23%2.26%1.78%1.66%1.50%1.09%–––––––
LICI GRATUITY PLUS GROWTH FUNDInsurance companies–––––––––––––––––––––––––4.29%––4.23%––4.12%––––––––
NPS TRUST- A/C ADITYA BIRLA SUN LIFE PENSION FUNDProvident and pension funds–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.02%––––––––
LICI HEALTH PROTECTION PLUS FUNDInsurance companies––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––4.09%–––––––––
NPS TRUST- A/C UTI RETIREMENT SOLUTIONS SCHEME E -Provident and pension funds–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.05%1.07%–––––––––
NPS TRUST A/C - UTI RETIREMENT SOLUTIONS LIMITEDProvident and pension funds––––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.08%–––––––––––
LIFE INSURANCE CORPORATION OF INDIA - ULIF00420091Insurance companies–––––––––––––––––––––––4.12%–––4.40%––––––––––––
NPS TRUST- A/C HDFC PENSION MANAGEMENT COMPANY LTDProvident and pension funds–––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.11%––––––––––––
NPS TRUST-A/C ICICI PRUDENTIAL PENSION FUND SCHEMEProvident and pension funds––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.10%–––––––––––––
NPS TRUST- A/C UTI RETIREMENT SOLUTIONS PENSION FUNDProvident and pension funds–––––––––––––––––––––––––1.04%––––––––––––––
LIFE INSURANCE CORPORATION OF INDIA - ULIF00218091Insurance companies––––––––3.73%–––––––3.18%–––––––4.25%–––––––––––––––
LICI NEW ENDOWMENT PLUS-GROWTHOther Institutions––––––––––––––––––––––3.95%–––––––––––––––––
ICICI PRUDENTIAL LIFE INSURANCEnCOMPANY LIMITEDInsurance companies––––––––––––––––––––––1.02%–––––––––––––––––
ICICI Prudential Life Insurance Company LimitedInsurance companies2.00%2.06%2.14%2.10%–1.28%1.18%1.09%1.02%––––1.01%1.10%1.05%1.16%1.14%1.18%–1.02%1.01%––––––––––––––––––
LICI PENSION PLUS NON UNIT FUNDOther Institutions––––––––––––––––––––3.73%–––––––––––––––––––
LIC OF INDIA MARKET PLUS NON UNIT FUNDInsurance companies––––––––––––2.90%–2.78%–––3.63%–––––––––––––––––––––
LIC OF INDIA PENSION PLUS NON UNIT FUNDInsurance companies–––––––––––––––––3.42%––––––––––––––––––––––
Government of Singapore - Holding under the category of Foreign Corporate BodiesOther non-institutions––––––––––––3.75%2.18%1.70%–––––––––––––––––––––––––
LIC OF INDIA CHILD FORTUNE PLUS BALANCED FUNDInsurance companies5.35%––––––––3.72%3.49%––2.73%––––––––––––––––––––––––––
Monetary Authority of Singapore- Holding under the category of Foreign Corporate BodiesOther non-institutions––––––––––––1.03%–––––––––––––––––––––––––––
MONETARY AUTHORITY OF SINGAPOREInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor–––––––––––1.05%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
FRANKLIN TEMPLETON INVESTMENT FUNDSInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor–––––––––1.06%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
FORT CANNING INVESTMENTS PTE. LTDInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor–––––––––1.02%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
LIFE INSURANCE CORPORATION OF INDIA - ULIF00220091Insurance companies–––––––3.76%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
A filing names every holder above one per cent, in the company's own words: an insurer's holding can carry one of its funds' names. Mutual funds are left out here: each fund's holding is on the Mutual funds tab, from its own portfolio. A dash is a filing that did not name the holder, which includes holding under one per cent. The 40 holders most recently named are shown, of 45 holders the filings name.

Who moved in the Sep 2026 filing

Against the Jun 2026 filing. A filing names a public holder only at 1% or more, so a holder no longer named fell under 1% or sold out.

  • Foreign institutions: GOVERNMENT OF SINGAPORE - E 1.04%, +0.01 pts
  • Indian institutions: LICI INDEX PLUS FLEXI SMART GROWTH FUND newly named at 4.46%; LICI NEW PENSION PLUS SECURED FUND no longer named, from 4.14%; NPS TRUST A/C - SBI PF NPS JEEVAN SWARNA RETIREMEN 1.93%, +0.08 pts