BASF India logo

BASF India shareholders and shareholding pattern

NSE: BASFBSE: 500042Chemicals & PetrochemicalsSmall Cap

BASF India Limited · Face value ₹10 · Listed May 1968 on BSE, May 1995 on NSE
Last close ₹3,164.20up ₹61.00 (1.97%)BSE ₹3,165.45

Share price at the NSE close on 29 Oct 2026. Previous close ₹3,103.20.

29 Oct: open ₹3,103.20, high ₹3,175.00, low ₹3,074.90

52-week range of traded prices to 29 Oct 2026
₹3,031.80Low, 26 Oct 2026₹4,560.00High, 13 Nov 2025
Market cap
₹13,696 Cr413th largest listed
P/E
21.30
P/B
3.46
Dividend yield
0.79%
ROE
16.9%
ROCE
20.2%
Debt to equity
0.00
Volume, NSE
15,123

BASF India's shareholding pattern for Sep 2026, filed on 9 Oct 2026, with every filing from Dec 2016: who owns its shares by group, its promoters by name and its public holders of 1% or more.

Who owns BASF India, filing by filing

Per cent of the company's shares.

Sep 2026 filing

  • Promoters73.33%
  • Foreign institutions5.16%
  • Indian institutions5.94%
  • GovernmentsNone
  • Individuals and others15.57%

Shareholding pattern, per cent, from Sep 2022

  • Promoters
  • Foreign institutions
  • Indian institutions
  • Governments
  • Individuals and others
73.33%2.78%73.33%5.16%5.94%15.57%Sep 22Jun 23Mar 24Dec 24Sep 25Sep 26
Per centDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%
Foreign promoters73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%73.33%
26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%26.67%
Shares in issue4,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,6404,32,85,640
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. A dash is a line the filing did not state. “Under 0.01%” is a holding of shares too small to show at two decimals.

Number of BASF India shareholders

Shareholders on the company's register in each filing.

Shareholders, filing by filing

42,991Dec 1641,774Mar 1741,224Jun 1742,214Sep 1740,967Dec 1739,741Mar 1840,160Jun 1840,180Sep 1840,053Dec 1840,121Mar 1939,519Jun 1939,587Sep 1938,100Dec 1939,317Mar 2040,472Jun 2045,909Sep 2044,173Dec 2042,145Mar 2147,062Jun 2152,512Sep 2154,473Dec 2154,329Mar 2255,447Jun 2254,521Sep 2255,430Dec 2254,683Mar 2353,883Jun 2352,119Sep 2351,068Dec 2348,219Mar 2450,412Jun 2454,552Sep 2461,747Dec 2461,334Mar 2564,780Jun 2563,572Sep 2562,848Dec 2562,474Mar 2664,263Jun 2665,213Sep 26
ShareholdersDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
All shareholders42,99141,77441,22442,21440,96739,74140,16040,18040,05340,12139,51939,58738,10039,31740,47245,90944,17342,14547,06252,51254,47354,32955,44754,52155,43054,68353,88352,11951,06848,21950,41254,55261,74761,33464,78063,57262,84862,47464,26365,213
3333333333333222222222222222222222222222
Foreign promoters3333333333333222222222222222222222222222
42,98841,77141,22142,21140,96439,73840,15740,17740,05040,11839,51639,58438,09739,31540,47045,90744,17142,14347,06052,51054,47154,32755,44554,51955,42854,68153,88152,11751,06648,21750,41054,55061,74561,33264,77863,57062,84662,47264,26165,211
Filings before Sep 2022 are on an older form, which did not split institutions into foreign and Indian and grouped some holders differently, so those columns show only the lines both forms state alike. A dash is a line the filing did not state.

BASF India promoters

Promoters are the founders, families and companies that control the company, as its filings name them. Every member of the promoter group holding shares in the filing for Sep 2026; the largest is Basf Societas Europaea, 52.75%.Promoter buying and selling

Holder
Basf Societas EuropaeaForeign companies and others52.75%2,28,35,320
Basf Schweiz AgForeign companies and others20.58%89,07,900
No promoter shares are reported as pledged.

Largest public holders of BASF India, filing by filing

Per cent, on the same shares as the split above.

HolderDec 2016Mar 2017Jun 2017Sep 2017Dec 2017Mar 2018Jun 2018Sep 2018Dec 2018Mar 2019Jun 2019Sep 2019Dec 2019Mar 2020Jun 2020Sep 2020Dec 2020Mar 2021Jun 2021Sep 2021Dec 2021Mar 2022Jun 2022Sep 2022Dec 2022Mar 2023Jun 2023Sep 2023Dec 2023Mar 2024Jun 2024Sep 2024Dec 2024Mar 2025Jun 2025Sep 2025Dec 2025Mar 2026Jun 2026Sep 2026
General Insurance Corporation of IndiaInsurance companies1.62%1.62%1.62%1.62%1.59%1.59%1.59%1.59%1.59%1.59%1.59%1.59%1.59%1.59%1.59%1.07%1.07%1.07%1.07%1.09%1.09%–1.09%1.09%1.10%1.30%1.30%1.30%1.12%1.06%–––1.06%1.12%1.27%1.50%1.50%1.53%1.53%
Tata Indian Opportunities FundForeign portfolio investors, category I–––––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.10%1.11%1.11%1.11%1.11%1.11%1.11%1.11%1.11%1.11%1.11%
Bajaj Life Insurance LimitedInsurance companies––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––1.00%1.00%
Plutus Wealth Management LLPCompanies–––––––––––––––2.43%2.24%1.73%1.73%1.73%1.73%1.73%1.73%1.73%1.73%1.73%1.73%1.73%1.73%1.73%2.08%2.08%2.08%1.93%1.93%1.93%2.08%–––
Bajaj Allianz Life Insurance Company Ltd.Insurance companies2.42%2.39%2.32%2.33%2.37%2.19%2.00%2.01%2.08%2.11%2.11%2.15%2.19%2.32%2.19%1.90%2.01%2.39%2.07%1.78%1.85%–1.98%1.86%1.93%1.84%1.24%1.24%1.20%1.20%1.18%––1.05%1.05%–––––
Life Insurance Corporation of IndiaInsurance companies1.33%1.33%1.33%1.33%1.33%1.33%1.33%1.33%1.33%1.33%1.33%1.33%1.33%1.19%1.19%1.19%1.19%1.19%1.19%–––––––––––––––––––––
Goldman Sachs India LimitedInstitutions Foreign Portfolio Investor–1.08%1.13%1.13%––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––––
A filing names every holder above one per cent, in the company's own words: an insurer's holding can carry one of its funds' names. A dash is a filing that did not name the holder, which includes holding under one per cent.